Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

65 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Nuclear Blast Allstars - Into The Light (CD)

Nuclear Blast Allstars
Into The Light
by Elina Papadoyianni at 19 July 2007, 1:30 AM

The German label Nuclear Blast Records celebrates its twenty years of presence in the metal scene through the release of an anniversary album. It is an effort that extends in two CDs and is here to mark the course of the record company, presenting some of its best bands included in its current roaster and not only.
Into The Light brings along a scent of RAGE and MIND ODYSSEY. That is because Russian instrumentalist Victor Smolski (ex-MIND ODYSSEY/RAGE) is in charge of composing and performing ten songs in the album. For that matter, he is reunited with ex-fellow members Andreas Dirksmeier (keyboards), Volker Schultz (drums), Jan-Michael Keller (bass) and Mario LeMole (vocals) from their MIND ODYSSEY years. Alongside them, Nuclear Blast secured the valuable assistance of Peter Wagner and Andre Hilgers of RAGE on the lyrics, bass and drums correspondingly, as well as Jen Majura's experience in backing vocals. Needless to say, this team is accompanied by an array of well-known artists that are affiliated with the label.
The first CD features numerous vocal guests, from Mats Leven to Tarja Turunen, while on the second CD there is a compilation of songs of the current Nuclear Blast bands, having a few surprises like The Madness Of The Crows by HELLOWEEN and El Traidor by GOTTHARD. Generally, the interest of this release is focused on the first CD, which begins with Tobias Sammet of EDGUY and the Hard Rock Dirty Wings. Peter Wagner of RAGE comes next to brutalize a bit the picture with Terrified.
The Heavy/Power side is strongly highlighted in this release, having Tony Kakko of SONATA ARCTICA in Rulling The World, Mats Leven (THERION/KRUX) in the very well performed Death Is Alive and there paused by Marcel Schirmer of DESTRUCTION and Bloodsucker to spice it up with some Thrash ingredients. The album continues its Heavy/Power course with Hansi Kursch of BLIND GUARDIAN and the cover of MIND ODYSSEY Slaves To The Desert, With Andi Deris of HELLOWEEN and A Perfect Day and the rather mediocre Eternally by Oddleif Stensland of COMMUNIC. Into The Light saves for the end some touches of proggresive with Marco Hietala (NIGHTWISH/TAROT) and Inner Sanctuary and Tarja Turunen (ex-NIGHTWISH) with a remake of In The Picture by MIND ODYSSEY.
There are generally a few worth-to-notice parts in this anniversary release and some hints that prevent the characterisation of a RAGE/MIND ODYSSEY fiesta, nevertheless Nuclear Blast didn't manage to stand out with something innovative and least expected. Next stop is the second effort of the German Label (beware, we have a sequel here!) Out Of The Dark, were the core musician will be Peter Wickers known to us from SOILWORK.

3 Star Rating

Disc 1

Dirty Wings (feat. Tobias Sammet)
Terrified (feat. Peter Peavy Wagner)
Ruling The World (feat. Tony Kakko)
Death Is Alive (feat. Mats Leven)
Bloodsucker (feat. Marcel Schmier Schirmer)
Slaves To The Desert (feat. Hansi Kursch)
A Perfect Day (feat. Andi Deris)
Eternally (feat. Oddleif Stensland)
Inner Sanctuary (feat. Marco Hietala)
In The Picture (feat. Tarja Turunen)

Disc 2

Hearts On Fire (by HAMMERFALL)
The Madness Of The Crowds (by HELLOWEEN)
El Traidor (by GOTTHARD)
Sweet Enclosure (by AFTER FOREVER)
New Protection (by RIDE THE SKY)
Forevermore (by THUNDERSTONE)
Slipstream (by THRESHOLD)
The Smoke (by AMORPHIS)
Devil Seed (by CANDLEMASS)
The Other Side (by SIRENIA)
Record Label: Nuclear Blast


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green