Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

43 guests

Welcome to our newest member, DanielleD

Obey the Brave - Balance

Obey the Brave
by Ross Donald at 04 August 2019, 9:13 PM

OBEY THE BRAVE are a Canadian metalcore band and this is their fourth studio and first released with Impericon Records. This is a follow-up to 2017’s “Mad Season”.

The album starts with a hell of an opening track as “No Apologies” really let’s you know what you’re in for. This is definitely a song designed to get a live crowd fired up and I imagine it won’t have much trouble with that with some vocals and instrumental sections reminiscent of metalcore legends Killswitch Engage and even a bit of While She Sleeps. The chorus is catchy as hell too and will have you singing along pretty quickly. The song topic is great too as it’s all about standing up for yourself and what you believe in. A fine start.

Following another hard-hitting track with “Die Young”, we have one of the bigger tracks on the album with “Cold Summer” that serenades the listener with some kickass guitar riffs before hitting the biggest and hookiest chorus possible. An album highlight. “Reality Check” is the heaviest track so far with some chunky riffs and the harsh vocals remaining throughout.

After the slightly disappointng and forgettable “Smoke Signals”, we have “The Tide” that brings us right back with an infectious riff and even some harmonised vocals on a great chorus. Another album highlight.

The band keeps the momentum going through all songs all the way up to the final track “Balance” which I just loved. It’s the shortest track on the record at only 1:39 in length but it’s easily one of the best as the band just throws absolutely everything they have at you and manage to fit a three minute song in just about half the time. Just a ton of fun.

Overall I think this is a damn fine album with a band that sticks to their guns throughout. They might not change their sound up all that much which would usually be an issue, but the album is only 25 minutes long so it’s quite forgivable giving how good most of these tracks are. Worth a listen for sure.

Originality: 6
Songwriting: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. No Apologies
2. Die Young
3. Cold Summer
4. Reality Check
5. Smoke Signals
6. The Tide
7. Calme Le Jeu
8. Seeing Red
9. Balance
Alex Erian -  Vocals
Terrence McAuley - Guitar
Stevie Morotti - Drums
Record Label: Impericon Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green