Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

48 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Obsidian Tide - Pillars of Creation

Obsidian Tide
Pillars of Creation
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 31 July 2019, 11:32 PM

OBSIDIAN TIDE was founded in the spring of 2012 by Oz Avneya (guitars and clean vocals).  After a short search, Erez Nadler (drums and programming) and Shachar Bieber (bass and harsh vocals) joined him to complete the current lineup of the band. For a short while in its first year, the band also included Roman Spektor (rhythm guitars and clean vocals), and even auditioned for a keyboardist, but the dust quickly settled and only the original members of the band remained. They released their first creation, “Debris,” in early 2015.  This concept EP was recorded and mixed by Erez Nadler independently, and mastered by Jamie King. The EP was mostly written by the group founding member, Oz Avneya (based on materials he wrote upon forming the band; the finishing touches were a joint effort) and self-produced. Their latest offering, “Pillars of Creation,” is set for release on August 29, 2019, and contains seven tracks.

“Pillars of Creation” leads us off. Clean guitar tones ease you into the song, followed by bass guitars and light programming. Clean vocals join the fold. Then the main riff drops hard, and it’s back to the lighter sound in the beginning. Amidst the pretty sound, harsh vocals appear. They work very well in this song. The drums segue into the next track, called “Seven.” This time, the harsh vocals take center stage in a punishing passage, and then alternate with clean and softer passages. The Progressive elements…are just there…and they don’t overpower the central sound. The simulate flute is a nice touch as well.

“King of a New Realm” start off with more of those clean guitars and a melancholy sound. The main riff hits, and it’s slow and gets your head moving. Harsh vocals are gravely and high pitched. The sound drops after the half-way mark, and charming piano notes occupy the song. Then a heavy riff returns, taking the song to completion. “Portent of Betrayal” opens with some dissonant riffing and a faster, more aggressive sound. Harsh vocals lead the way, until the half way mark, when clean vocals come in and the sound is more passive and thoughtful, but still with an edge of mystery that hangs out there. A spacy keyboard passage ends the song.

“Hiraeth” is a bit longer, clocking in at close to ten minutes. This song seems to embrace melody a little bit more. It might be the lead guitar passages. A clean guitar passage with noticeable bass lines and simulated strings is absolutely beautiful. Harsh vocals return and then it’s a smooth sailing from thunderstorms and choppy waters through calm seas to the end of the track. “The Harbinger and the Millennial Vengeance” features Mike LePond, and starts off heavy and aggressive with some time changes. The bass work after the half-way mark is incredible, and this song might put me in a trance. “Magnanimous” closes the album. It’s the longest song, at over eleven minutes in length. The opening is pretty docile, with an easy listening pace and bass guitar parts, but when the harsh vocals hit, chaos comes with it, and then it’s back to the more melancholy passages again. They play with the two endlessly in this song. The saxophone takes the song to another level.

This album was a journey…a journey through dark forests and sunlit groves that reach the furthest recesses of your mind and state of consciousness. They have a knack for riding that fence between clean, ambient passages and dark, punishing ones, but the way they make those connections is the key to their sound. I have no doubt that this album would appeal to a wide audience because of these factors.

Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. Pillars of Creation
2. Seven
3. King of a New Realm
4. Portent of Betrayal
5. Hiraeth
6. The Harbinger and the Millennial Vengeance
7. Magnanimous
Oz Avneya – Guitars, Clean Vocals
Erez Nadler – Drums, Programming
Shachar Bieber – Bass, Harsh Vocals
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 08 February 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green