Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

43 guests

Welcome to our newest member, umogox

Obtruncation - Sanctum Disruption/Sphere of the Rotting (Reissue)

Sanctum Disruption/Sphere of the Rotting (Reissue)
by Marcos "Big Daddy" Garcia at 05 April 2018, 11:23 AM

In the second coming of Death Metal that happened in the last years of the 80’s and in the beginning of the 90’s, many people focused their attention on Swedish and North American schools. But Netherlands has an excellent scene as well, showing names as GOD DETHRONED, SINISTER and GOREFEST among many others. But OBTRUNCATION is another name from those days, and they are releasing a compilation, called “Sanctum Disruption/Sphere of the Rotting”. These songs come from their Demo Tapes, 1991’s “Sanctum Disruption” and 1992’s “Sphere of the Rotting”. By these dates, I hope that you realize that on these years, Death Metal hadn’t many genres as today, but was only one. So you’ll find the old and good Death Metal, as brutal and raw as it was on those days, not focused on technical exhibitions, but just to be as harsh and raw as they could.

Although old Demo Tapes usually don’t have a good sound quality, here we hear that these guys had guts to create something brutal and fast in those days. The songs from “Sanctum Disruption” were remixed and remastered, as the ones from ““Sphere of the Rotting” were only remastered. Of course, because he sound quality improved a lot and you can understand what the band is playing. If we all look from today, obviously they’ll sound outdated, but in those days on the 90’s, they were very good. For those die-hard fans from Old School Death Metal, songs as “Aroused by the Deceased”, “Sanctum’s Disruption” (what very good slow parts), the furious outburst of energy on “Pernicious Saviour”, the filth that fills “Church of Delusion”, “Mutual Hatred”, and the mass murdering of “Obtruncation” are their best moments.

For those who lived in those days, this album is essential.

Originality: 6
Songwriting: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 6

3 Star Rating

1. The Initiation
2. Aroused by the Deceased
3. Sanctum’s Disruption
4. Witch from Akyrz
5. Pernicious Saviour
6. Church of Delusion
7. Witch from Akyrz (Demo 1990)
8. Mutual Hatred
9. Things That Were and Shall Be Again
10. Obtruncation
11. Repudiated Angel
Lawrence Payne - Vocals
Frank Donkers - Rhythm Guitars
Luc Van Ravels - Lead Guitars, Vocals
Arjan Meerkerk - Bass
Martin Steigenge - Drums
Record Label: Vic Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green