Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

82 guests

Welcome to our newest member, Nlcookuk

Of Legend - Stranded

Of Legend
by Fede "FedeRock" Taich at 14 April 2011, 12:27 AM

Of Legends is the Metal side project from self-taught musician Luis Dubuc, of the SECRET HANDSHAKE fame. Dubuc wrote and played all the instruments as usual, except for the drums which were handled by Travis Orbin (PERIPHERY, SKY EATS AIRPLANE).

This short but intense album is a mix of almost anything Core you can think of. From Hardcore to Grindcore, Dubuc delivered it all. Right from the first song, “Nothing Matters”, the longest song on the album, which it’s only 3:06, you will be able to hear that Dubuc is here to rip out our faces! After a minute plus kind of intro he delivered a MESHUGGAH kind of groove with Hardcore vocals that actually sounded pretty cool to me.

The album kept the same line until “False God” that started with a grind drum beat and turned into a typical Hardcore song but with more a sophisticated grooves. The grind beats kept on coming through the rest of the song and also on “Cannibal King”. Maybe this is a tribute to CANNIBAL CORPSE?

The thing with this album is the especially the short songs. Those practically gave me the feeling that as if I was listening to promo songs. I know that this is a common thing with Hardcore but, this is not typical Hardcore and I just didn’t listen to that “special touch” on this album.

Production wise, I liked what I heard around here. The album sounded very MESHUGGAH like but with the exception that this is not MESHUGGAH and when you sound too much like another band, but you are not that band and sound not as good, it’s not that of a good thing. In general, the songs are good and intense and if you like MESHUGGAH and modern Hardcore and anything Core, I think you will like this one. 

3 Star Rating

1. Nothing Matters
2. Death Eyes
3. Off Guard
4. Save The Humans
5. We Wish Death
6. False God
7. Carpe Nocturm
8. Cannibal King
9. Consecro
10.The Last Leader 
Luis Duduc - Vocals
Travis Orbin - Drums
Zack Ordway - Guitars
Elliot Coleman - Bass
Jacob Blecher - Guitars
Record Label: Season Of Mist


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green