Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

39 guests

Welcome to our newest member, 7charlottec98100ha2

Omnispawn - Embers

by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 04 July 2017, 12:18 PM

OMNISPAWN is a Melodic Death Metal band from Sweden. Formed in 2007, the band was previously known as DARKEST DAYS, and then FLATLINE. They then settled on their current moniker and released their debut full-length in 2009. The band almost didn’t make it past that point, but fate would bring them back together in 2016 to work on “Embers,” their latest project, released in 2017. The EP contains five tracks. “Irreverence” opens with a heavy guitar riff, in the noble fashion of the genre, and deep Death vocals. The guitar melody keeps it grounded there, as well as the closing sound with some lead notes that venture a bit higher. “The Last Kill” is slower in pace and features some blasting bass drum beats. A fuzzy guitar solo using the neck pick-up is a nice addition, though perhaps some opposing harmonies would thicken up the sound a bit more.

“Trevor” hears the pace quicken and the guitars work well with the rhythm of the vocals. The changes in the riff give it some dynamics as well; very pleasing. “Mother” has a fierce sound; a deep and dark registry. The legato guitar notes help move it along nicely. You can see them and grab them, and ride on them in a sense. Music should be an experiential journey and when it wraps around you it is a joyous thing. “Dead Inside” closes the EP. It has a despondent sound, and labors with the weight of the title. The solo is bleak sounding as well, and the track does a nice job of conveying emptiness. The foundation for good Melodic Death Metal is here on the “Embers” EP. Featuring a full and rich Death metal voice, and a strong guitar presence that works above the structure of the bass and drums to being that melodic aspect to light, the five tracks are deep in the venerable tradition of this genre that strikes a chord with so many Metal-heads.

Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Memorability: 8
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. Irreverence
2. The Last Kill
3. Trevor
4. Mother
5. Dead Inside
Rickard Wahlberg - Guitar
Markus Harju - Guitar
Charlie Persson - Bass
Daniel Gadd – Drums
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green