Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

57 guests

Welcome to our newest member, umogox

Operation: Mindcrime - Resurrection Award winner

Operation: Mindcrime
by Garrett Davis at 22 December 2016, 3:27 PM

Named after a classic QUEENSRYCHE album and headed by the legendary Geoff Tate of QUEENSRYCHE fame, you just know that any fan of Progressive Metal is going to go crazy for this band. “Resurrection” is the second studio album by OPERATION: MINDCRIME, released this September, and is the second part of a concept trilogy. The band features John Moyer, ex-bassist of DISTURBED and Simon Wright, who played with AC/DC and DIO. Tate also brings MYTH alums Kelly Grey and Randy Gane along for the ride. As difficult as it may be to contain my excitement and not judge this LP based on the pedigree of its members, I’m going to try and assess it by its own merits. With that said, let’s jump in.

The first track “Resurrection” builds ambiance with a strong instrumental that has an almost futuristic yet somber tone. Distorted repeated vocalisations creep through the music, making your skin crawl and setting your teeth on edge in wonderment of what it all means. It then blends smoothly into the next track, “When All Falls Away”, which is an ethereal instrumental piece that builds up to the next track. As much as i enjoyed the layered sounds and techniques here, if you have read my other reviews you know that I prefer shorter tracks to be those that really only serve to set up the next one and are incorporated into a better whole.

The first three or four tracks are rather short and the first two really only serve to lead into the next. I don’t know why some people don’t blend tracks into one if they work well together. The third track “A Moment in Time” is a thirty-second drama with powerful vocals; but I don’t know if 30 seconds deserve its own separate title and track. No one requests a one-minute opening track during a concert or raves about it as the best on the LP, so why not combine the first 5 tracks into one six minute track? I’m sure the band had their reasons but it really took me out of the experience at times.

Overall, this LP is fantastic and exactly what you would expect coming from guys with such extensive and respectable backgrounds. It seems like the band members had a specific sound and goal in mind but didn't shy away from trying new things and just jamming out. I cannot wait for the next album to be released and see how this soon-to-be-legendary trio of albums will play out.

Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Memorability: 10
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

  1. Resurrection
  2. When All Falls Away
  3. A Moment In Time
  4. Through The Noize
  5. Left For Dead
  6. Miles Away
  7. Taking On The World
  8. Invincible
  9. A Smear Campaign
  10. Which Side You're On
  11. Into The Hands Of The World
  12. Live From My Machine
John Moyer – Bass
Simon Wright – Drums
Kelly Grey – Guitars
Geoff Tate - Vocals, Guitars
Randy Gane - Keys
Scott Moughton - Guitar
Brian Tichy - Vocals, Guitars, Drums
Record Label: Frontiers Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green