Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

Steinmetal, 65 guests

Welcome to our newest member, mikemcmahan

Opprobrium - Supernatural Death

Supernatural Death
by Eric Poulin at 14 June 2018, 8:25 AM

OPPROBRIUM is a Death Metal/Thrash Metal band based out Metairie, Louisiana and was formed back in 1986, under the name INCUBUS. They changed their name in 1999 to OPPROBRIUM instead of engaging in a legal battle with the alternative rock band of the same name. The album “Supernatural Death” is a compilation originally released in 2016 and re-issued in February 2018 on Bandcamp. The CD will be re-issued as a digipack/remastered version in August of this year. The album will be released on the Brutal Records label. It contains 16 tracks covering the band’s 32-year existence.

The album starts with screams and bomb noises in the intro, “The Battle of Armageddon”; it has a nice dirty and grinding riff, followed by a good dose of Thrash and slower tempo riffing that dives right into “Voices from the Grave”, a song that does remind me a bit of OBITUARY and PESTILENCE in its slower passages. The rapid-fire singing and shredding is akin to SLAYER, as are the solos. The song even has some trademark laughing. “Blaspheming Prophets” has some nice intense blast-beats and a pretty cool “money riff” around the 1-minute mark.  It summons the late great Jeff Hannemann to perfection.

“Underground Killer” has some upfront double-bass and dissonance in the guitars before following a more classic Thrashy vibe, and a very strong middle-section.

Some other highlights on the album are “Hunger for Power”, which has a bit of TESTAMENT feel to it, “Sadistic Sinner” that rips your head off and enjoys it. Some songs are clearly demos such as “Hell’s Fire”, “Assault”, “Incubus”, and “Death”, and they show the raw energy the band demonstrated in its early days.

Overall, this is quite the time warp to the early age of Death Metal, where there was no polished guitars and overdone production. This was aggression at its best and it pulled no punches, definitely an interesting compilation.

Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Memorability: 7
Production: 7

3 Star Rating

1. The Battle of Armageddon
2. Voices from the Grave
3. Blaspheming Prophets
4. Underground Killer
5. Serpent Temptation
6. Hunger for Power
7. Blind Vengeance
8. Sadistic Sinner
9. Rigor Mortis
10. Cataleptic
11. Hell's Fire
12. Assault
13. Incubus
14. Death
15. Curse of the Damned City
16. Fear of the Unknown
Moyses M. Howard - Drums
Francis M. Howard - Guitars, Vocals
Record Label: Brutal Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green