Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

49 guests

Welcome to our newest member, umogox

Orange Goblin - Healing Through Fire (Reissue)

Orange Goblin
Healing Through Fire (Reissue)
by Yassine "SpiritCrusher" Mankai at 09 June 2014, 5:49 PM

"Healing Through Fire", the 6th album by ORANGE GOBLIN, Reissued via CANDLELIGHT RECORDS. Why? Well because the puck, it seems difficult to obtain. Produced by Mark Daghorn, the reissue includes two live bonus tracks recorded during the band's performance at the BBC in London for the Radio One Rock Show in August 2007. Album is available on CD and vinyl color.

Originally released in 2007, "Healing Through Fire" is the sixth album. The lyrics are inspired by the Great Plague and Great Fire of London in 1666. The musicians feel that this is one of their best albums. They had their psyche period, and then went to something more punk. This "healing through fire" was a return to doomy kind of a stoned sound, crowned with some hard rock riffs refers to the 70' like the acceleration on "The Ale House Braves" that looks like LED ZEP. Or even the "Cities of Frost" with dark pulses, without forgetting "Hot Knives And Open Sores" in the same mood.

Needless to say that BLACK SABBATH is one of their main influences but they have a good lug in this way to insinuate catchy melodies carried by striking and vintage riffs. We must listen "Mortlake (Dead Water)", a beautiful small piece with acoustic guitar or the "Beginners Guide to Suicide", a sort of blues rock as we laid an egg in the 70s, while demonstration and duel guitar / harmonica, and this hoarse voice.

The bonus tracks have nothing transcendent, but personally, it is the opportunity to rediscover this cake worth its listening.

4 Star Rating

1. The Ballad of Solomon Eagle
2. Vagrant Stomp
3. The Ale House Braves
4. Cities of Frost
5. Hot Knives And Open Sores
6. Hounds Ditch
7. Mortlake (Dead Water)
8. They Come Back (Harvest of Skulls)
9. Beginners Guide to Suicide
10. The Ballad of Solomon Eagle (Live at the BBC)
11. They Come Back (Harvest of Skulls) (Live at the BBC)
Ben Ward - Vocals
Joe Hoare - Guitar
Martyn Millard - Bass
Chris Turner - Drums
Record Label: Candlelight Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 26 May 2020

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green