Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

50 guests

Welcome to our newest member, DanielleD

Origin – Abiogenesis: A Coming Into Existence

Abiogenesis: A Coming Into Existence
by Justin "Witty City" Wittenmeier at 28 May 2019, 1:51 AM

Abiogenesis” is a collection of old and rare material before ORIGIN’s inception.  All the tracks were written by ORIGIN’s founder, and sole remaining original member, Paul Ryan.  It also contains “A Coming Into Existence,” the band’s first EP that is this time remastered. For a brief primer of the band, just understand this band plays technical Death Metal with odd time signatures…played at an almost inhuman speed at times.  If someone told me ORIGIN were the fastest band on Earth, I would be stupid to argue with them over that statement.  This is insane music with an intensity that is rarely achieved by most other bands.

But that does that mean it is good?  Yes and no.  Sure, the band is incredibly talented but I can only take so many super fast short songs before my brain begins to implode.  I just simply crave more from my music—if they slowed down a few notches and added some length to their songs, I would probably be more open to this.  However, if they made those changes, they wouldn’t ORIGIN.  So ultimately, I have enjoyed this band in the past and enjoyed this album but it isn’t something I want to experience on a daily basis. The opening track, “Insanity,” begins with industrial/ambient noises before kicking out your feet from underneath and stampeding over you.  The Death growl/screams are as about as menacing at the guitar tone—the two definitely work well together.   As such high speeds, the sound manages not to wear thin—the album does sound very full and rounded production wise.

Bleed As Me,” begins a bit more methodical before the insanity kicks in; it kind of feels like two songs in one, which is amazing considering it is under three minutes.  If anything, the band manages their time well in terms of how they apply their song writing to shorter structures. The last four tracks are from their first EP and I actually enjoyed these a bit more.  The production isn’t as good but it is also a bit more raw—that may or may not be good depending on personal tastes.  But these songs seem to have a bit more patients and let things play out a bit longer while still retaining the brutality. I particularity enjoyed “Lethal Manipulation…” as it has a brutal, heavy rhythm and the drums are constantly escalating in their exciting, hard hitting approach. If you’re a hardcore fan of the band, this review doesn’t matter: you have either heard most of this stuff already or you haven’t but you will now…and enjoy every super fast second. It is a nice collection for purist.  For casual fans or people who don’t like the band, this won’t change your mind.

Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Memorability: 7
Production: 7

3 Star Rating

1. Insanity
2. Mauled
3. Autopsied Alive
4. Spastic Regurgitation
5. Bleed As Me
6. Mind Asylum
7. Infestation
8. Murderer
9. Lethal Mainpulation The Bone Crusher Chronicles
10. Sociocide
11. Manimal Instincts
12. Inner Reflections the Pain From Within
Paul Ryan – Guitars, Vocals, Bass, Drums (Tracks 1-8)
Clint Appelhanz – Bass (Tracks 9-12)
George Fluke – Drums (tracks 9-12)
Jeremy Turner – Guitars, Vocals (tracks 9-12)
Mark Manning – Vocals (tracks 9-12)
Record Label: Agonia Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 26 November 2020

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green