Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook



Not logged in

Users online

38 guests

Welcome to our newest member, Ashbaughaq70

Outer Heaven - Realms of Eternal Decay

Outer Heaven
Realms of Eternal Decay
by Kyle Scott at 28 November 2018, 2:17 PM

Dissonance, rabbit quick beats, dozens of guitars being fed into an industrial shredder while the untamed shouts of a howler monkey screams over the noise, it's got Metalcore written all over it. Alive and screaming since 2013, OUTER HEAVEN has finally released their debut after five years, Realms of Eternal Decay. Tearing notes from CANNIBAL CORPSE, MORTICIAN, and CATTLE DECAPITATION, OUTER HEAVEN is Hammer Smashed Face played with all the fury and passionate disgust for humanity of Monolith. There is a lot to digest when listening to Realms of Eternal Decay and most of it is just going to come back up anyway, whether you take the album slow or not.

"Vortex of Thought" is actually super relateable to anyone with ADHD or Anxiety Disorder; just a seemingly endless swirling torrent of dissonant riffs and inhuman screaming that threatens to consume you at any given moment. I swear you can feel the vibrations off Austen Haine's vocals. OUTER HEAVEN's waterfall of noise in every song seeks to drown as it floods and washes over. With songs like "Tortured Winds" or "Multicellular Savagery", the band paints a disturbed picture of human sacrifice and untold horrors unearthing themselves from deep layers of mire. Lyrics conjure up hellish landscapes of compromised minds and bodies, watching their kind's mass extinction happen in real time amidst pummeling bridges and cacophonous cymbal clangs.

According to an interview with Metal Insider with vocalist Austen Haines, the album is based off a theory of psychedelics being an integral part of ape evolution, and the album is basically a catalyst to devolve, "\[The album] trips them out, makes them go crazy, kill each other, cannibalize each other, and kind of decay into nothing…" Realms of Eternal Decay is a tool for spreading its sickness far and wide and destroys everything it touches from the inside out!

Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Memorability: 7
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. Vortex of Thought
2. What Lies Beneath
3. Pulsating Swarm
4. Multicellular Savagery
5. Echoes from Beyond
6. Tortured Winds
7. Bloodspire
8.Sacrificial Evolution
9. Putrid Dwelling
10. Decaying Realms
Paul Chrismer-Drums
Jon Kunz-Guitars
Austen Haines-Vocals
Zak Carter-Guitars
Raymond Figueroa-Bass
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 26 May 2019

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green