Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

65 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Palantir – Chasing a Dream

Chasing a Dream
by Issy Herring at 09 May 2022, 1:29 PM

Swedish power metal group PALANTIR have come a long way since the band’s formation in 2012. In the same year, they released their first set of demo tracks, before going on to release “Lost Between Dimensions” in 2017. In more recent times, they released their first and only single to come from their latest album titled “Queen of the Moon” in early 2022. PALANTIR are back with their brand-new album “Chasing a Dream”, which was released on March 1, 2022, via Stormspell Records.

The first song on the new release is title track “Chasing a Dream”. It starts off with an instantly hard-hitting power metal riff which is juicy to its core! As the song goes on, the song becomes more and more impactful, topping it off with a catchy, anthemic chorus which is just infectious and unforgettable. Next up is “Queen of the Moon”, which begins in a very intriguing way. Gusts of wind and heavy rain sounds accompany a notable guitar riff before we are intrigued further when a Spanish themed melody kicks in! The song is an exciting mix of instrumentalization from start to finish, with Marcus S. Olkerud’s strong vocals really helping to carry the song through!

“Astral Prison” is next, which starts off on a softer note with a soft guitar riff carrying the song into the first chorus. Then things really start to take a turn for the better, with a solid electrifying riff doing all the talking! There is an almost theatrical theme with this track, which I can really get behind. However, the song lacks memorability unfortunately in comparison to other songs on the record. “Among the Stars” begins with an audio clip of a rocket launch, before Olkerud’s striking and remarkable vocals take over. The track appears to lyrically discuss the importance of people investigating life on Mars and how their job should be truly admired. This song has power metal riffs galore!

“The Beast Within” is next, which starts off with a gentle keyboard solo from keyboardist Johannes Frykholm. The song then carries on in a similar vein to other tracks on this release. This is probably the most personal song on this album, as the lyrics speak of Olkerud’s experience of dealing with excruciatingly troublesome times head on, learning to smile the pain away as a result. The first few seconds of “Transcension” are truly beautiful, before leaping right in with a marvellous guitar riff, which is sure to get you grooving! The chorus ultimately makes the song complete though, with the truly addictive riff and instrumentals making it memorable.

“Where I Belong” is up next, which is another song on the same realm as the others. Saying that, a funky keyboard solo and addictive, impactful guitar riffs pull the song through, really setting the tone of the album. The last track on the album is “Read the Signs”, which seems to be a very relevant song for the current start of the world. The lyrics talk about how they believe that ‘the world is full of lies’. This is without a doubt one of the highlights on the entire release, with the song containing a catchy drum beat throughout, not to mention some terrific guitar solos.

“Chasing a Dream” is a great power metal album if you are a true fan of the genre. However, for an introductory release it lacks lasting power, unfortunately. Even though there is good musicianship and production throughout the album, a lot of the tracks are not that memorable. The title track “Chasing a Dream” and the final track “Read the Signs” are most definitely the better efforts on the entire release. If you are a power metal fanatic, there is no doubt in my mind that you will love this record, but sadly, I think it could have been better.

Songwriting: 5
Musicianship: 9
Memorability: 4
Production: 8

2 Star Rating

1. Chasing a Dream
2. Queen of the Moon
3. Astral Prison
4. Among the Stars
5. The Beast Within
6. Transcension
7. Where I Belong
8. Read the Signs
Marcus S. Olkerud – Vocals
Fredrik E. Enochson – Guitar
Calle Persson – Guitar
Cederick Forsberg – Bass/Backing Vocals
Johannes Frykholm - Keyboard
Emanuel Lindberg – Drums
Record Label: Stormspell Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green