Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

38 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Past Five - Detox Award winner

Past Five
by Mark Machlay at 10 May 2020, 4:38 AM

Starting out like many bands do, Swedish 5-piece alternative metal outfit, PAST FIVE’s members started in their teen years, getting together after school and jamming, little knowing that it would evolve into a serious career path. Forming in 2015, the band has had a few lineup changes in the short amount of years they have been together. In 2016, they replaced their original lead singer with current member Jonathan Wallin and with this first lineup change, they started to solidify their definitive sound - heavily influenced by early 2000's alternative rock and metal but adding flavors from other similar genres The group were fortunate enough to self-produce and release their debut EP “Somewhere Between Serenity & Rage” that same year.

2017, however, brought much turmoil among the members as they pushed themselves towards achieving perfection in their song-writing, forcing themselves through long rehearsals, and increasingly finding it difficult to make time for family. The tumult would prove fruitful in their new compositions and in 2018 they added another guitarist in Simon Hellgren to help them achieve their goals. 2019 would bring even more fortune as they found success in the Swedish division of the Emergenca European Festival in which they earned a top 10 ranking in their country.

Those new compositions would result in their latest EP, Detox, so named for that year of tumult that would have pushed lesser bands to a breaking point. They connected with producer Christian Silver – famous for his work with SOILWORK, DRAGONFORCE and ARCH ENEMY and recorded in the infamous StudioMega in Varberg, Sweden. They have now shed their usual pop-punk sheen, moving into more complex, dark, and experimental territory. They come out of the gates swinging with this tight, short set of songs featuring dystopian lyrics, soul-crying melodies, and overall heavy, hard smacking, infectious jams.

It’s always strange finding such short EP's such as these that are brimming and overfilling with talent and heart. Right out of the gate, “Playing with Fire (When Your Friends Are Enemies)” delivers with a fast, energetic pace that hits like a more mature and dark PANIC AT THE DISCO track with an amazing guitar solo. “Kryptonite” is groovier and features a really nice keyboard lead in the chorus, lots of their pop-punk influence on this track. “Close to Exit” brings back the pure intensity and fiery passion that the band displays. Raw emotion spills out by the EP ender “God Forbid” in the doubled vocals. There is clearly a lot of talent in this 3 guitar attack with lots of great lead riffs and solos sprinkled throughout. The whole package is a memorable, sing-able, passionate mashing of several alternative metal and many other heavier influences. I was pleasantly surprised by these energetic Swedes in a country already overflowing with talent.

Songwriting: 9
Musicianship: 9
Memorability: 10
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. Playing with Fire (When Your Friends Are Enemies)
2. Kryptonite
3. Close to the Exit
4. God Forbid
Jonathan Wallin - Vocals/Guitar
Jonathan Yderhag - Guitar
Simon Hellgren - Guitar
Alexander Orlov - Bass
Jerri Lassinniemi - Drums
Record Label: Eciipse Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green