Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

32 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Peace Is Just A Break - Little Boy Award winner

Peace Is Just A Break
Little Boy
by Craig Rider at 27 January 2018, 12:09 AM

Metal maniacs, rejoice! I'm proud to present to you: PEACE IS JUST A BREAK; signed independently, hailing from Switzerland grounds - performing Melodic Death Metal/Hardcore, on their debut album entitled: “Little Boy” (released October 13th, 2017).

Since formation in 2011; the quintet in question have only a Single behind them: “Echoes” (which was released on August 5th, 2015), and this here album: “Little Boy”. Incorporating an intricately designed formula of hard-hitting melodic death metal/hardcore distinctions, PEACE IS JUST A BREAK may be a bizarre name for a quintet – but is it the name, or the music you are here for? You decide. 10 tracks; ranging at around 48:18, the band blow the speakers with an organic arrangement of concrete developments and savagely sinister constructiveness. Opening up with the titular track; my expectations were surprisingly exceeded, as the band deliver a solid slab of unique instrumentation and musicianship that contributes a diverse variety of menacingly monstrous captivation that will provide a meaty slab of solid executions while balanced with bouncy characteristics that are relentlessly stimulating.

Consisting of Matt Favre on vocals; the frontman supplies a consistently deadly force of raspy, guttural growls in which showcase a complexly fluid element to it. “Alice In Monsterland” converges the two aforementioned sub-genres well with proficient dexterity, as the forged merger of the melodious efficaciousness contrasted with the death/hardcore implementations portrays an elegant structure of dominating salubriousness. Nicolas Riederer on guitar nimbly swifts with rapid fire precision; as in the song “Insane Circles”, the raw mechanics compile bone crushing velocity - while battering with blisteringly thunderous momentum. Jonas Lacôte also on guitar manifests a grandiose amount of intense riffs and solos that progressively overpower with technical attributions. “War Is Over” has catchy grooviness with a frenzied barrage of blast beating assaults and rhythmic drum cymbal diligence from powerhouse drummer Vincent Winger that excels with prominence.

Tunguska” distributes chugging, explosive riffs which excel with more blast beating finesse - demonstrating an exquisite sound production while ripping with razor-sharp shredding with aggressive blood raising shrieks. “A Hate So Strong” compiles an indifferent turn, blending with a punchline foundation of of head-crushing elegance…the combination of these subdivisions are well fused, showcasing unprecedented creativity and craftsmanship abundantly. “Rain” keeps those extremely intense drum cymbal explosions in check, establishing a vigorous experience which has a profusely robust fabrication to it. “The Black Army” has enlightening vibrancy as the songwriting adroitness advances with innovating hostility, hammering down the anvil with a vulgar display of absolute power. “Echoes” evolves with more unique technical progressiveness, the most peculiar song so far yet still a splendidly heavy-hitter.

Overall concluding “Little Boy” with the electronica infused cover track of the band known as  MAÎTRE GIMS - “Brisé”; I am compelled to say that this was indeed an entertaining discovery, and should be checked out for those looking for a remarkable adventure.

Songwriting: 8
Memorability: 8
Originality: 9
Sound Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. Peace Is Just A Break
2. Alice In Monsterland
3. Insane Circles
4. War Is Over
5. Tunguska
6. A Hate So Strong
7. Rain
8. The Black Army
9. Echoes
10. Brisé (Maître Gims Cover)
Matt Favre - Vocals
Nicolas Riederer - Guitar
Jonas Lacôte - Guitar
Greg Whooper - Bass
Vincent Wenger - Drums 
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 02 December 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green