Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

46 guests

Welcome to our newest member, patrickbarnes

Peter H. Nilsson - Little American Dream

Peter H. Nilsson
Little American Dream
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 27 February 2019, 6:49 AM

Swedish guitar player Peter H. Nilsson has been in the musical business for many years and in different bands with extensive touring in his home country. In 2016, Nilsson started to work in his studio tracking new ideas for an album and in June 2017 all song were done. At the same time, he was looking for a singer and Chris Biano from Tennessee started to discuss the possibility of working together. In July 2017, the first song was tracked. With Jason Meekins on drums and Patrik Adiels on bass, the line-up and album was completed. “Little American Dream” contains nine new tracks.

“You Better Run” is a slow moving track with a positive, easy listening riff. The vocals are tender and the sound is all about evoking calming emotions. “You better run, you better get away, before you fall in love and it’s too late” he croons. “Me and You” features another simple guitar riff that flows easily into your ears. The chorus is big, full, and memorable. “Am I Dreaming” opens with solemn guitar tones and piano notes and slightly despondent vocals. Nilsson lays down a nice solo without too much in terms of bombast. “Timeless” is a tender ballad oozing with emotions and a poignant quality…talking about the age old subject of love. The solo is perfect and drips with the melody of the main part of the song.

“Little American Dream” opens with a jovial keyboard melody…like something you might hear from JOURNEY back in the day. It very well structured and with the perfect amount of melody, and it fades out at the end. “Haunted” has a nice little melody and a smooth sound with a thick chorus, talking about being “haunted by the ghost in you.” “Love is Worth Fighting for” opens with a swinging mid-tempo groove, and earnest lead guitar notes. It has a tender quality to it and really opens up in the chorus. “Rumours” has an easy listening riff and a bit of a solemn quality in the verses, which turns positive in the chorus, talking about wanting to know if the rumours of his love being with someone else are true. It definitely has a sad quality to it. “Magic” closes the album with some haste and some get-up in your step. It’s a positive song that you can connect with easily. The chorus is full and rich and really puts a stamp on perhaps the best song on the album.

Overall, I found the album to my liking. Soft and cool, and with an easy listening sound, it’s simple but effective in its message. Peter lets his songwriting tell the tales through the lyrics and riffs, rather than through his lead guitar passages. The result is an album that any Rock fan can enjoy.

Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Memorability: 8
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. You Better Run
2. Me and You
3. Am I Dreaming
4. Timeless
5. Little American Dream
6. Haunted
7. Love is Worth Fighting for
8. Rumours
9. Magic
Peter H. Nilsson – Guitars, Keyboards
Chris Biano – Vocals
Jason Meekins – Drums
Patrik Adiels – Bass
Record Label: AOR Heaven


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green