Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

35 guests

Welcome to our newest member, AlexBarnard

Phantom-X - The Opera of the Phantom Award winner

The Opera of the Phantom
by Daniel Silva at 27 August 2012, 3:00 PM

PHANTOM-X is an American Power Metal band that was formed in Dallas, Texas in 2004 by then OMEN singer and bass player, Kevin Goocher and Glenn Malicki. They had been playing together for fun around their hometown in a Ronnie James Dio tribute band called STARGAZER. When OMEN took a 2 year hiatus, Goocher and Malicki decided to turn the STARGAZER project into what is now PHANTOM-X. In 2005, they released their debut album “Rise of the Phantom”. The album became number 7 on the German Metal charts Heavy. “Rise of the Phantom” includes the first chapters of the Phantom storyline. In 2006, they released the follow up album “Storm Riders”, which contains Chapters 5,6 and 7 of the Phantom saga. After the release of this album, Kevin Goocher and Glenn Malicki parted ways with their drummer and guitarist. In 2010, PHANTOM-X released “This Is War” to much acclaim. This album allowed the band their first headlining tour and contains Chapters 8, 9 and 10. Now in 2012 they release their fourth studio album, “The Opera of the Phantom”,which is a concept album based on their Phantom storyline that contains the previous Chapters that were released in previous albums along with three new songs that wrap up that storyline and three new “independent” songs from the overall story arc.

The album starts with the song “Storms from Hell” that sets up the Phantom storyline that will follow on until the final chapter “Holy Hell”, it is a Metal journey of non-stopping awesome riffs and finger-breaking solos. After that we have three songs that aren’t part of the concept of the album but, nonetheless, are played with just as perfection as the previous ones, with special mention to “Your Majesty” a tribute song to Ronnie James Dio, one of the greatest singers and persons to walk this earth.

Only one word can be used to describe this album: masterpiece. From its high operatic vocals delivered by Goocher, who is among the greatest Metal singers of all time, to the monstrous riffs and blistering guitar solos of Bill Engfer, to the rhythmic parts of bass and drums, that not only keep the songs tight but they also add their own flavor to the songs, this is a modern masterpiece of the Power Metal subgenre.

5 Star Rating

1. Prelude/Storms of Hell
2. The Rise of the Phantom
3. Discovery
4. The Mask
5. Storm Riders
6. Everspell
7. 13th Hour
8. A Strange World
9. Discovery II
10. Deep Six Down
11. Cloning the Christ
12. Playing God
13. Holy Hell
14. 1000 Quatrains
15. Your Majesty
16. All Hail the Heroes
Kevin Goocher- Vocals, Keys
Bill Engfer - Guitar
Glenn Malicki - Bass
Reece Stanley – Drums
Record Label: Pure Steel Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green