Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

42 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Phil Campbell and the Bastard Sons - The Age of Absurdity

Phil Campbell and the Bastard Sons
The Age of Absurdity
by Craig Rider at 02 February 2018, 7:36 AM

Metal maniacs, rejoice! I’m proud to present to you: PHIL CAMPBELL AND THE BASTARD SONS; signed via Nuclear Blast Records, hailing from England - performing Rock, on their debut album entitled: “The Age Of Absurdity” (released 26th of January, 2018).

Since formation in 2016; the quintet in question have an EP and this here album: “The Age Of Absurdity” in their entire discography so far. With the disappointing demise of Phil Campbell’s contributions in the legendary band MOTORHEAD, the guitarist had no option but to carry on his legacy - the only way to do that is with his new solo band: PHIL CAMPBELL AND THE BASTARD SONS. 11 tracks; ranging at around 42 minutes, the quartet deliver an intricately designed slab of solid arrangements and hard hitting developments of Rock ‘n’ Roll distinctions. “Ringleader” begins the record with unique elements of dynamically progressive technicalities; which contrasts with bouncy, crunchy and hasty executions.

Consisting of Neil Starr on vocals; the frontman provides his own formula of organic vocalizations, supplying clean singing amalgamated with roughness to high pitched proficiencies. “Freakshow” showcases complex dexterity from second guitarist Todd Campbell, distributing a diverse variety of rhythmic riffs and solos which swift and swerve with harmonic domination. “Skin And Bones” constructed consistently catchy melodies which have an elegant sound production adroitness that is profusely robust, Dane Campbell pulverizes his set which excels with diligent grooviness. “Gypsy Kiss”,is the most connected with MOTORHEAD as Phil Campbell’s trademark sound is well noticed in this one - a good, speedy track.

Powerhouse bassist Tyla Campbell is also nicely heard as “Welcome To Hell” balances the bass coordination well with pummelling expertise, with the fast and furious delicacies that are admirably exquisite. “Dark Days” portrayed an unprecedented implementation with a whistleblower(?) Component, which was a nice addition to the creativity - juxtaposed with the thunderous craftsmanship at hand, a slower track that still came out strong. “Dropping The Needle” brings back the relentless energy, fueled with battering salubriousness which hammers with fierce intensity. “Step Into The Fire” has an efficient amount of songwriting memorability that has an original enlightenment of primitively fulfilling savageness - which is hardened with malicious mettle all round.

Get On Your Knees” is easily one of my favourites, with its infused substance of memorable characteristics that is blended with the ongoing assault and barrage of rampaging orchestrations that are quite remarkable. “High Rule” continued the advanced inventiveness with more enjoyably entertaining mechanisms, that are adequately cohesive to the sub-genre by a large margin. Overall concluding the record with “Dark Days”; I was pleasantly surprised with this one, it was what I expected but it had a persistent amount of discoveries that made this worth the listen – “The Age Of Absurdity” and PHIL CAMPBELL AND THE BASTARD SONS certainly outdone themselves with this one, worth checking out.

Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Memorability: 8
Sound Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. Ringleader
2. Freakshow
3. Skin And Bones
4. Gypsy Kiss
5. Welcome To Hell
6. Dark Days
7. Dropping The Needle
8. Step Into The Fire
9. Get On Your Knees
10. High Rule
11. Into The Dark
Phil Campbell - Guitar
Todd Campbell - Guitar
Dane Campbell - Drums
Tyla Campbell - Bass
Neil Starr - Vocals
Record Label: Nuclear Blast


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green