Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

leanne, 23 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Phlebotomized - Pain, Resistance, Suffering Award winner

Pain, Resistance, Suffering
by Laura Glover at 13 April 2021, 2:42 AM

Dutch Death Metal band, PHLEBOTOMIZED, released their newest seven track EP. On August 9, 2020, “Pain, Resistance, Suffering” was proudly put forth. PHLEBOTOMIZED was formed in 1989; changing their name in 1990 from what it was, to what it is now. They made various tracks, albums, and EP’s throughout the 90’s; disbanding in 1997.  Glady, they reunited in 2013 and have stayed that way. PHLEBOTOMIZED released the highly acclaimed “Immense, Suspense, Intense” in the early 90’s; an album ahead of its sound with its Melo-Death sound. Leading to suspense as to whether the newest EP would match in quality.

Pain, Resistance, Suffering” is a more polished version of their older sound, albeit stayed true to the basis of their sound with their being a definite lean towards symphonics mixed with brutality. Including the violin. “It Will Pass” - Truly one of those songs whose first notes drew me right in. I knew I would like this album right away based on this song. It is a delightful, atmospheric, symphonic track mixed with vocal brutality. The vocal’s have a more classic metal sound while the instrumental part has a more Melodic quality. But, PHLEBOTOMIZED is known for this mix of ethereal and razor edge. “Pain, Resistance, Suffering” - This is a much faster tempo, from its angry vocals to its raging drum beats. Scathing emotionally, a roller coaster ride of lush guitar and rage. “Beheaded Identity” - Long, lonely chords on guitar and emotionally charged drum echo in your heart, ushering in morosely sung lyrics. Connotations of pain and suffering. Some emotions don’t even need words and are spoken for us in musical notes. This is one of those type sounds.

Collusion Starts Here” - They say certain songs have the potential to get stuck in your head because they meet a certain “sing song” criteria. Basically, they sing well in our heads and it gets stuck there. Well, this is one of those songs. The guitar is on point, while the song as a whole is perfectly created to be a memorable experience. I would have to say I am pleased as a whole with this EP, “Pain, Resistance, Suffering”. The vocals are hard enough to please those who prefer more of that classic vocal sound. While the guitar is entrancing and ethereal, somehow haunting and yet full of rage. I find myself feeling like I need to listen to this EP more as my fondness for it grows. It is one of those things that just sits easy on the musical flavor palette.

Songwriting: 10
Musicianship: 10
Memorability: 10
Production: 10

5 Star Rating

1. It Will Pass
2. Pain, Resistance, Suffering
3. No Surrender
4. Beheaded identity
5. You Have No Idea
6. Collusion Starts Here
7. GPS (Global Problems Served)
Tom  Palms – Vocals (Clean)
Rob op ‘t Veld – Keyboards
Ben de Graaff – Vocals
Dennis Bolderman – Guitars
Andre’ de Heus – Bass
Alex Schollema – Drums
Thijs van der Sluijs – Guitars
Record Label: Petrichor Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 08 December 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green