Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

20 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Platitude - Nine (CD)

by Eleni Mouratoglou at 04 May 2004, 5:22 PM

Platitude's line-up is quite remarkable. Seven sweedish boys between 18 and 24 years old play symphonic power metal. The polyphony of the group's structure seems to justify their music's neo-classical dimension. Nine is their second album after Secrets Of Life, their 2003 debut.
The first thing I noticed during listening to Nine was Erik Blomkvist's voice which is extremely cultivated and mature if you have his age in mind (Erik is 23 years old). At that point my fear that I had to deal with a semi-amateur band was swept away. And I'm happy I was not contradicted as each song followed the previous one.
All the members know how to play music and, what is more, there is a bond connecting them. Nobody is trying to stand in the first rank. They form a harmonic whole letting each musician outstand when he is allowed by the songs' compositions.
Platitude's powerhouse melodies are simple and catchy. Although they don't claim unprecedented originality they manage to avoid simplification. Nine sounds easy to the ear rather than stimulating and that also proves that the group doesn't want to make any figure. While other symphonic metal bands narrate epic poems, Platitude sound like a fairy tale.
The two keyboardists contribute their best to the dreamy atmosphere which is mainly determined by them. The guitars sound a little bit harsh but they are just a flash in a mid-tempo serenity with only scarce moments of intensity.
In general, Nine is a pleasant surprise by a very promising band. Platitude succeeded in renewing a stuffed metal genre. Give them time and attention. If not, just enjoy a relaxing and innovating hour listening to this album and especially tracks like Oblivion, Haleyon Days, Skies Of Xenon and Starlight. Personally, I really really liked it. This is as simple as it sounds to be.

3 Star Rating

Dark Mind
Haleyon Days
Catch 22
Avalon Farewell
Skies Of Xenon
Andreas Lindahl - Lead Keyboards & Synths
Erik Blomkvist - Vocals
Daniel Hall - Guitar  
Patrick Janson - Bass
Marcus Hoer - Drums
Gustav Kollerstrom - Guitar
Wachen - Synths & Vocals
Record Label: Scarlet Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green