Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

27 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Platitude - Silence Speaks (CD)

Silence Speaks
by Michael Dalakos at 29 September 2000, 4:11 PM

Did you know that one of the synonyms for Platitude is Monotony? That's a scary reference for a band I think. For heaven's sake however Platitude (the band, not the word) have proven in the past that their music cannot be described as monotonous. And though their previous releases could not be considered as strong as their debut attempt I believe that Silence Speaks puts them back in the correct path.
In Silence Speaks Platitude deliver (as always) nicely balanced melodic power metal and progressive metal. The moody feeling ever-present in this album gives a really interesting tone to the whole package - most compositions might sound somehow fragile (and I guess that's caused by the delicate keyboard approach) but after repeated listening a reporter can discover a silent force of nicely fused rhythmical parts. A fine example to all this is the opener Tell The Truth. This is one of the songs the even though might sound a bit stereotyped sticks in mind for a long time. At points Platitude's music brings in mind the more down to earth compositions of Conception (the ones where Ostby didn't vandalize his guitar with licks etc.).
The dominant voice of Erik EZ Blomkvist of course is trademark to Platitude's sound. This guy has an excellent throat and I would like to check him out on other genres of metal (dude, try some hard rock for me). Of course the rest of the guys deliver a quite professional performance. As always the keyboard parts are quite dominant. Production wise this album is flawless with very strong and clean sound. All in all this is a well served album? Nothing extraordinary, still quite good. It seems that Platitude are back in the map of success…

3 Star Rating

Tell The Truth
Silence Speaks
Nobody's Hero
Empty Inside
Fear (It's Over Now)
Don't Be Afraid
Falling Down
After The Storm
Walk With Me
Andreas Nrobjer - Drums & Backing Vocals
Erik EZ Blomkvist - Lead & Backing Vocals
Gustav Kollerstrom - Guitars
Wachen - Synthesizers & Backing Vocals
Patrik Janson - Bass
Record Label: Metal Heaven


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green