Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

50 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Powerwolf - Best of the Blessed Award winner

Best of the Blessed
by Jean-François ‘’Jackal’’ Poulin at 31 July 2020, 5:02 AM

POWERWOLF is Power Metal band from Saarbrucken, Saarland, Germany.  This is a 3 CD Earbook Limited Edition Best of the band. The first CD is a best of and re-recorded versions of a number of their tracks through the last decade and a half. As for the second and third CD of this boxset, it’s the Live album to their last studio release ‘’The Sacrament of Sin’’ and a few bonus live tracks from the same tour. This is a must for any fan of the band. The basic version is only the first CD so the live album is really a nice surprise. The new versions of the old classics really heighten the quality of the songs themselves and they added a touch to each song to make it really stand out from their predecessors.

POWERWOLF are a very polarizing band in the world of Metal. They are akin to SABATON because of their most straightforward Power Metal style and easy-listening style of compositions. A lot of people criticize the oversimplistic approach they have to music and being they always stay true to the formula, never really going astray. I think those people are vastly wrong about everything, their last album hit #1 on the German charts, they did sold out headliner tours throughout Europe (they haven’t come here to North America as of yet) and are always quite prominent on the big festivals.

They are not the prototypical Power Metal band, the singer does not have the best range but has such a presence, a demeanor and cult-like ability to grab the attention of the listener out there. The whole band is quite theatrical yet sometimes quite comical, not taking themselves too seriously talking about werewolves, vampires and whatnot. They are not like a lot of Power Metal bands out there talking about the wizards of the dragons empire through the fire of the ember diamond on top of the crystal mountain of doom. They talk about horror, religion, epic morbid and classic fantasy tales. They really stand out on the lyrical content which is a nice departure obviously.

The keyboards sound like church organs, the production is very theatrical (again with that word) and you can see the time and effort to produce such a thing. I would compare the type production to the likes AVANTASIA or AYREON, everything is there for a reason and everything sounds like a ton of bricks.

The songs themselves are once again perfectly suited to be played live, which has always been the heart and soul of POWERWOLF’s music. Big choirs accompany hooks that are easy to remember and equally easy to sing along to, a lot of "uh" and "ah" shouts should also be possible in the live situation, and thus POWERWOLF caters once more to the more casual metal listener and festival attendee. So having a whole live performance for the second and third CD is a real treat and they are just a freakin’ powerhouse (pun intended) live and they are a sight to behold. They deliver the goods and it’s just fun loving Melodic Power Metal (like SABATON), nothing’s gonna reinvent the wheel but they have their signature sound and its thoroughly enjoyable. They are right now the best Power Metal band in the whole and probably ready to conquer other continents when the pandemic will die down.

Songwriting: 10
Musicianship: 10
Memorability: 10
Production: 10

5 Star Rating

Disc 1 - Best of the Blessed

1. We Drink Your Blood (New Version 2020)
2. Army of the Night
3. Demons Are a Girl's Best Friend
4. Werewolves of Armenia (New Version 2020)
5. Saturday Satan (New Version 2020)
6. Amen & Attack
7. Where the Wild Wolves Have Gone
8. Resurrection by Erection (New Version 2020)
9. Sanctified with Dynamite (New Version 2020)
10. Kreuzfeuer
11. Armata Strigoi
12. Kiss of the Cobra King (New Version 2019)
13. Killers with the Cross
14. Sacred & Wild
15. In Blood We Trust (New Version 2020)
16. Let There Be Night

Disc 2 - The Live Sacrament

1. Fire & Forgive
2. Incense & Iron
3. Amen & Attack
4. Demons Are a Girl's Best Friend
5. Killers with the Cross
6. Armata Strigoi
7. Blessed & Possessed
8. Where the Wild Wolves Have Gone
9. Resurrection by Erection
10. Stossgebet
11. All We Need Is Blood
12. We Drink Your Blood
13. Werewolves of Armenia
14. Lupus Dei

Disc 3 - The Live Bonus Sacrament

1. Sanctified with Dynamite
2. Army of the Night
3. Coleus Sanctus
4. Let There Be Night 
Charles Greywolf – Bass and Guitars
Roel Van Helden – Drums
Matthew Greywolf – Guitars
Falk Maria Schlegel – Keyboards
Attila Dorn – Vocals
Record Label: Napalm Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green