Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

39 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Powerwolf – The History Of Heresy II Award winner

The History Of Heresy II
by Katarzyna Zakolska at 17 December 2014, 2:42 PM

POWERWOLF is a Power / HeavyMetal band from Saarbrücken, Saarland in Germany. They were formed in 2003 and have released 5 albums: “Return in Bloodred” (2005), “Lupus Dei” (2007), “Bible of the Beast” (2009), “Blood of the Saints” (2011) and “Preachers of the Night” (2013), with 3 box sets: “Trinity in Black” (2011), “The History Of Heresy I” (2014) and “The History of Heresy II” (2014).

The “The History Of Heresy II” pack is a three-disk re-release of two albums “Bible of the Beast” (with two bonus tracks) “Blood of the Saints” and the bonus CD “The Sacrilege Symphony”.

My first contact with this great band was when my friend Henry recommended me their song “We Drink Your Blood” on his radio show. I just have fallen in love from first listening with their music.

Amazing keys, symphonic echoes and melodic overtones of the band is characteristic of  POWERWOLF. From CD number 1 “Bible Of The Beast” which is re-release album from 2009 I love “Raise Your Fist, Evangelist” the most, with unbelievable power, choir in style of hymns and Latin lyrics and ”Moscow After Dark” where melody conects with a perfect rhythmic setion, guitars and organs are true kick-ass. Worth a mention is mega memorable track ”Catholic In The Morning… Satanist At Night” in Power Metal style and energetically catchy ”Resurrection By Erection”. Track with fighting echoes is ”Midnight Messiah” with nice melody, and also ”St. Satan's Day” is a standout song with massive riffs, organs and energy!

These guys perfectly recorded a cover of RUNNING WILD’s ”Riding The Storm” which has amazing melody a powerful chorus. Another bonus track, ”Testament In Black” is the next great one with melodic heavy riffs in style of IRON MAIDEN and BLACK SABBATH; and what a perfect guitar solo!

On album number 2, “Blood of the Saints” from 2011, I love “We Drink Your Blood” which is my favourite track – so melodic, powerful and heavy sounds, overlaid with organs. Catchy and nice is also ”Ira Sancti (When The Saints Are Going Wild)” with a church-like atmosphere and and a thrumming mood buildup. Wonderful are: faster and energetic sounds in ”Sanctified With Dynamite” and organs mixing with heavier riffs in the gorgeous ”Son Of A Wolf”, fantastic power with church organs in ”All We Need Is Blood”, classy and energetic ”Murder At Midnight” and kick-ass ”Night Of The Werewolves” with wonderful sounds.

The bonus CD “The Sacrilege Symphony” is nice surprise for fans. On this CD are 5 tracks in Orchestral version which is totally different for the average Metal fan to be listening to, but really nice.

You couldn't be bored listening this compilation. Fans of POWERWOLF and Power Metal will be satisfied after listening to these  CDs. Each time you discover new feelings which are hidden inside. Totally perfect box sets for fans of these German Metallers and also for everyone who love Power and Heavy Metal!

5 Star Rating

CD 1 (Bible Of The Beast)
1. Opening: Prelude To Purgatory
2. Raise Your Fist, Evangelist
3. Moscow After Dark
4. Panic In The Pentagram
5. Catholic In The Morning… Satanist At Night
6. Seven Deadly Saints
7. Werewolves Of Armenia
8. We Take The Church By Storm
9. Resurrection By Erection
10. Midnight Messiah
11. St. Satan's Day
12. Wolves Against The World
13. Testament In Black (Bonus Track)
14. Riding The Storm (Bonus Track, Running Wild cover)

CD 2 (Blood Of The Saints)
1. Opening: Agnus Dei
2. Sanctified With Dynamite
3. We Drink Your Blood
4. Murder At Midnight
5. All We Need Is Blood
6. Dead Boys Don't Cry
7. Son Of A Wolf
8. Night Of The Werewolves
9. Phantom Of The Funeral
10. Die, Die, Crucified
11. Ira Sancti (When The Saints Are Going Wild)

CD 3 (The Sacrilege Symphony)
1. Raise Your Fist, Evangelist (Orchestral Version)
2. In Blood We Trust (Orchestral Version)
3. Sanctified With Dynamite (Orchestral Version)
4. Ira Sancti (When the Saints Are Going Wild) (Orchestral Version)
5. Moscow After Dark (Orchestral Version)
Attila Dorn – vocals
Matthew Greywolf – guitars
Charles Greywolf – guitars
Falk Maria Schlegel – keys
Roel van Helden – drums
Record Label: Metal Blade Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green