Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

30 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Primal Fear - I Will Be Gone

Primal Fear
I Will Be Gone
by "Metal Mark" Garcia at 28 May 2021, 12:35 PM

PRIMAL FEAR is a commercially successful German Heavy/Power Metal band (besides the sextet is closer to a Power Metal than to Heavy Metal on its latest albums) that needs no further presentations. That’s all that’s left to say about their work, because everyone already knows their work to the point of creating a ‘love it or hate it’ relationship between the fans: if you like their work, you’ll love it; if not, you’ll hate it for sure. And although they released their latest album last year (“Metal Commando”), they’re back with a five song EP called “I Will Be Gone”.

This EP seems like a recollection of materials that were left out of “Metal Commando” in some ways, because “Rising Fear”, “Leave Me Alone” and “Second to None” (that are bonus tracks from the Japanese version of the album), the unreleased track “Vote of No Confidence”, and a new version for “I Will Be Gone”, this time with the presence of Tarja Turunen sharing the vocals with Ralph. Of course it can seem like a something to gather some bucks from the fans in a time that’s hard to the bands to make a tour, but there’s something that can be said by the fans: ‘shut up and take my money!’. The boss Mat Sinner is the producer, leaving Jacob Hansen to take care of the mixing and mastering of the EP. It’s a perfect sonority for the sextet’s music, because it sounds great, heavy and clean at its best for their music to be understood. It’s nothing more or less than that.

About the songs: this version for “I Will Be Gone” is really lovely, with melodies matching perfect with the tender vocals tunes of Tarja (she’s one of the best female singers in Metal, everyone knows that), but the acoustic approach is the same from the original version. The previously unreleased song “Vote of No Confidence” is really a very good moment, with aggressiveness and melodies contrasting perfectly, and a very good work on the guitars can be heard. “Rising Fear” is just a small instrumental song, and “Leave Me Alone” and “Second to None” are hits of the Japanese version of “Metal Commando”, so they’re new for the ones who didn’t have money for imported versions.

In the end of all, “I Will Be Gone” is a good release for the fans of PRIMAL FEAR, but it’s not a release that will improve their legions of fans.

Songwriting: 8
Musicianship: 9
Memorability: 8
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. I Will Be Gone
2. Vote of No Confidence
3. Rising Fear
4. Leave Me Alone
5. Second to None
Ralf Scheepers - Vocals
Tom Naumann - Guitars
Magnus Karlsson - Guitars
Alex Beyrodt - Guitars
Mat Sinner - Bass, Vocals
Michael Ehré - Drums
Record Label: Nuclear Blast Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green