Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

26 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Primal Fear - Metal Is Forever (CD)

Primal Fear
Metal Is Forever
by Michael Dalakos at 27 October 2006, 4:05 PM

Now that Primal Fear departed from Nuclear Blast, and as it always happens in such occasions, the label decided to release a best of for them. Thought I am not in favor of such tactics I understand them as routine operations taking place by every label that part ways with a somewhat big band.
Primal Fear is such a big band. Not huge, but definitely big. Formed by Mat Sinner (Sinner) and Ralf Scheepers (Gamma Ray) the band has already release a series of, at least, good German power metal albums. Many consider their first album Primal Fear as their best one, my personal favorite is Black Sun but I guess such things are totally attitudinal. This compilation comes in a double CD combo. The first CD contains 16 tracks that cover the band's entire discography in a quite democratically way. The second CD includes 9 more songs, the bizarre of this second CD is the fact that it includes all the cover versions the band has ever recorded and used in the past. Pretty cool if you ask me (I happen to be one of those people who constantly search for cover versions).
So does this collection achieve its goal? Well I guess that's in question - personally I find this collection a good one but also a safe one since it drops out several songs that cannot be considered hits but still are damn good. I guess it's hard to fit on one CD all the good songs that are included in six albums. The CD comes with a nice booklet that includes all the lyrics but again no historical information about the band. Sorry but I strongly disagree on this point since I believe that a band's first ever compilation must include some historical data as well for the new fans. At least it includes pictures from all the time periods of the act plus the lyrics of their songs.
In conclusion this is a good start for all of you willing to check out this band for the first time - but it doesn't add anything for all of you having already their entire discography.

3 Star Rating

Disc 1

Metal Is Forever
Seven Seals
Nuclear Fire
Final Embrace
The Healer
Angel In Black
Under Your Spell
Evil Spell
Running In The Dust
Suicide And Mania
Iron Fist In A Velvet Glove
Tears Of Rage

Disc 2

Out in the Fields \[Gary Moore & Philip Lynott cover]
Kill the King \[Rainbow cover]
Speed King \[Deep Purple cover]
Die Young \[Black Sabbath cover]
Metal Gods \[Judas Priest cover]
Breaker \[Accept cover]
Seek And Destroy \[Metallica cover]
Two Minutes To Midnight \[Iron Maiden cover]
The Rover \[Led Zeppelin cover]
Ralf Scheepers - Vocals
Mat Sinner - Bass
Tom Naumann - Guitar
Randy Black - Drums
Stefan Leibing - Guitar
Record Label: Nuclear Blast Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green