Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

30 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Prion – Aberrant Calamity Award winner

Aberrant Calamity
by Brian "Metal" Morton at 23 February 2019, 10:14 PM

From the beautiful country of Argentina, comes one of the most hellish and desolate death metal bands I have heard this year so far. PRION has released it’s latest monstrous album upon this earth “Aberrant Calamity”. This album will make your blood boil and your brain seep out from your nostrils as your head implodes. The guitars and vocals by Gregorio Kochian alone are enough to send your soul into the next plane of existence, but when you add in the incredible bass playing from Walter Barrionuevo and drums from Flavio Coscarella, your soul is likely to just cease to be.

The album begins with “Fictitious Form of Stability” and what a way to begin this perilous journey. This song is as brutal as they come. It will have you wanting to rip the flesh from your face just to shove it down the gaping maw in your skull. “Irreversible Ways” is the epitome of brutal death metal. They threw in a hint of groove with this insanely well written song. It is fucking phenomenal! The third track is called “I Remembered to Breathe” and I’m glad they remembered because I absolutely forgot to the entire song. This song was completely devastating on my speakers and I will probably need to replace them now. You can’t really ask for more than what this band has shelled out so far.

“Unable to Discern” shows no signs of letting up and keeps blasting into your ears. I feel like my ears will be bleeding by the end of this album. I cannot explain how sick this album is so far. “Over the Asphalt of a New Era” sounds like they were going to slow down a bit in the beginning and how wrong I was for thinking that. This is one band that I would really love to see live and who knows, maybe one day I'll travel a good distance just to see them. “I’m Jonah, Sacrifice Me” had me headbanging a little too hard. My neck is probably going to kill me tomorrow when I wake up. This song was almost five minutes of sheer brutal fucking metal.

“Pathological Self Destruction” is really good and keeps up the pace. It reminded me of the band THE MONOLITH DEATHCULT quite a bit. I really enjoyed this one with the way it’s still extreme but has a sense of calm with it. “Observed Reality” is one of my favorites off the album. It’s highly catchy and was written fantastically. I can almost guarantee that this one will be one of your favorites as well. “The Hesse Paradox” is the second to last track and doesn’t disappoint whatsoever. It’s one of those song you can either go crazy to or just sit and rock out to while playing video games. Now we are at an end of this journey into the depths of the underworld with the track “Slow Down”. The song title lies because in no way shape or form does it slow down. This is one of the more chug leaning songs they had on the album. This entire album was a masterpiece and they have gained a new huge fan.

Songwriting: 10
Memorability: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 10

5 Star Rating

1. Fictitious Form of Stability
2. Irreversible Ways
3. I Remembered to Breathe
4. Unable to Discern
5. Over the Asphalt of a New Era
6. I’m Jonah, Sacrifice Me
7. Pathological Self Destruction
8. Observed Reality
9. The Hesse Paradox
10. Slow Down
Gregorio Kochian – Vocals/Guitars
Walter Barrionuevo – Bass
Flavio Coscarella – Drums
Record Label: Comatose Music


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green