Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

42 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Professor Tip Top – Tomorrow Is Delayed

Professor Tip Top
Tomorrow Is Delayed
by Gary G. Hernandez at 20 June 2020, 2:32 PM

PROFESSOR TIP TOP hails from Bergen, Norway. They formed in 2011 and have six full-length albums to their credit, including “Tomorrow Is Delayed” which is due to be released June 26, 2020. If you are counting, that’s some serious output for nine years. The foursome is a Retro Psychedelic Prog band (pretty sure that isn’t an officially sanctioned genre, but it fits).

If you want to go with a “sounds like” angle, I’d say they’re more on the CAPTAIN BEEFHEART and maybe ZAPPA side of the spectrum than YES or PINK FLOYD. If you’re thinking, “none of those bands are Metal,” you’re right. This band is in no way even remotely Metal, nor do they try to be. This is straight up mellow prog. The album features a single but significant lineup change with Sonja Otto (THE LAST HURRAH!!) as the new vocalist. She also contributes to the keyboard action . . . and as a retro prog band there is plenty of keyboard action. The album clocks in around the 45-minute mark, maybe less, though it seems longer than it actually is or has to be. I say that because the album feels forced. It seems like someone wrote a long poem/narrative that they thought was brilliant and then forced it on some music that they also thought was brilliant and it resulted in a meandering, tepid album. It’s long in pretension and short in passion.

Okay, I know I just panned the album, but there are some good things about it. First, Sonja’s performance is solid. Her voice is relaxed, soothing, and perfectly articulate. Second, wow, this is a really well produced album. Every note and nuance are like velvet on memory foam and wrapped in silk. I think my headphones had an orgasm, which is scary because they’re on my ears. Third, these guys are talented musicians. No hacks here. Many of these songs are quite lovely, which is good if lovely is your thing. Four, well, the video for “Erebus” is fun to watch and the album cover art is intriguing, so thumbs up on the graphics (Vini Hummel).
I won’t spend a lot of time with this one, because it clearly isn’t my bag. If you’re into Retro Prog from the 70’s, you might like it. In fact, the album will probably score off the charts on the Prog forums. If you’re into Prog Metal, you may find some carry over elements that warrant appreciation.

Songwriting: 3
Musicianship: 7
Memorability: 3
Production: 8

2 Star Rating

1. Erebus
2. In The Mirror
3. Under Crystal Stars
4. The Ghost Within
5. Tomorrow Is Delayed
6. Beneath The Silence
7. Objet Petit A
8. Earth
Sonja Otto – Vocals, keyboards
Sam Fossbakk – Guitar, keyboards, synth, vocals
Stein Høgseth – Bass
Charles Wise – Drums
Record Label: Apollon Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green