Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

31 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Purtenance – Buried Incarnation

Buried Incarnation
by Cherie Wong at 08 July 2020, 6:50 PM

On June 23rd, 2020, PURTENANCE released their fourth full-length album “Buried Incarnation”. The Finnish death metal band formed back in 1991. Since then, they had a hiatus from 1992 to about 2011, as well as a few lineup changes.

PURTENANCE is a death metal band of the old school Finnish variety. Each track contains a healthy mix of slow, doom-laden riffs and faster traditional death metal riffs. Regardless of the pace, the riffs are simple, but still kick ass. Growling vocals add to the dreariness. The omnipresent hefty low-end fills out the sound considerably. Although there are a good variety of different melodies and riffs on the album, they all do end up sounding similar, especially after multiple listens.

No doomy death metal album is complete without tolling bells. “Into The Arctic Gloom” delivers that in a short intro track that builds in intensity. “Shrouded Vision Of Afterlife” begins slowly, with a somewhat melodic guitar riff floating above the low end of the bass and drums. Halfway in, things suddenly quicken to a midtempo pace, before returning to the slow pace and riff of the beginning of the track. From this track on, many of the tracks are similar, just with a slightly different riff and song structure. Slow and fast riffs weave above the crushing bass and drums. “Under The Malicious Moon” is one of my favorite tracks for the particularly headbanging riffs on it. “Dark Womb Of Nothingness” also stands out for the pure essence of doom brought on by the combination of the guitars and the drawn out growls.

Overall, I recommend this album to fans of death metal with a sizeable low end and a sound oozing with doom. Fans of AMORPHIS’ first album and CONVULSE would like this album. PURTENANCE does great justice to the old school sound on this album, which makes sense, as they were there in the first place.

Songwriting: 6
Musicianship: 7
Memorability: 6
Production: 7

3 Star Rating

1. Into The Arctic Gloom
2. Shrouded Vision Of Afterlife
3. Inside The Pyre Of Enlightenment
4. Under The Malicious Moon
5. Lifeless Profoundity
6. Deathbed Confession
7. Wrapped In Lamentation
8. Dark Womb Of Nothingness
9. Burial Secrecy
Harri Salo – Drums
Juha Rannikko – Guitars (Rhythm), Guitars
Tero Aalto – Guitars
Aabeg Gautam – Vocals, Bass
Record Label: Xtreem Music


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 06 December 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green