Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

39 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Pyrexia - Sermon of Mockery (Re-Issue)

Sermon of Mockery (Re-Issue)
by Dave “That Metal Guy” Campbell at 19 June 2015, 10:11 PM

PYREXIA is a Death Metal band, formed in New York City in 1990. This is a review of essentially their first full length album in 1993, but also contains some Demo and EP tracks from a little later into the 1990s. The songs are led by a combination of bass and guitar driven riffs and the low, guttural growls and partially drawn out screams of the vocals. The presence of the drums is strong as you would expect, but not overdone with the blast beats. The pacing of most of the songs is about the same as well, and there is not a lot of dynamic change either. This is consistent with the fledgling Death Metal genre at the time. The musicianship isn’t especially strong but they are not fumbling over themselves either. It’s consistent with a relatively new band in a scene that was still developing at the time. The sound presented is dissonant chaos for the most part but there is some more structured passages from time to time. Like a lot of old school Death Metal though, I sometimes wonder why they bother with song titles since many of the riffs, keys used, and rhythm is pretty unilateral from track to track, unless it is solely to provide the musicians with a break from the intensity of the music. If their mission was to make music devoid of almost all melody and traditional song structure, I would say that have succeeded here. I have heard Death Metal that peaks my interest however and I didn’t pet peaked a lot here with this album. I find this to be what I would have expected from the genre, location and space in time from when tracks were recorded. It’s traditional American Death Metal that stays very tightly in the genre boundaries established.

3 Star Rating

1. Sermon of Mockery
2. Resurrection
3. Abominat
4. The Uncreation
5. God
6. Demigod
7. Inhumanity
8. Liturgy of Impurity
9. Infernal Ascension
10. Hatred, Anger and Disgust
11. Bludgeoned by Deformity
12. The Enshrined
Shaun Kennedy - Bass
Rob Maresca - Drums
Chris Basile - Guitars
Eric Shute - Vocals
Record Label: Century Media


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green