Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

33 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Rabid Bitch Of The North - Nothing But A Bitter Taste

Rabid Bitch Of The North
Nothing But A Bitter Taste
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 03 October 2017, 11:45 AM

Heavy Metal trio RABID BITCH OF THE NORTH formed in Belfast, Northern Ireland in 2005, born under the influence of the NWOBHM movement. They have released three demos and an EP to date, but “Nothing but a Bitter Taste” is actually their first full-length release, and contains eight tracks. “The Missionary” leads off the charge. Steady, galloping double bass drums work underneath the main riff, with vocals in the upper ranges. The guitar tone reminds me of early JUDAS PRIEST. It’s a pretty straightforward NWOBHM sound with elements of Power Metal present. “Chance” has a bit of a tougher edge, with a dirty riff and raspy vocals. An extended instrumental section really boils down to a passage of pure power. The title track is a bit quicker in pace, and has some riff and key changes along the way.

“Gilded Men” is an easy listening song, led by charged vocals and a riff with notes that bounce up and down the fretboard. They aren’t winning any points for originality and the muffled production reminds you of the early days of the NWOBHM. I also have the distinct feeling that hearing this live would bring more energy to the album. “God of Punishment” is the longest song on the album at over five minutes. Unfortunately the lumbering pace and trite riff make for a fairly bland listening experience. “Demon Mind” reminds me of early ACCEPT. The vocal performance is the strongest element here, which is good because it saves the track from obscurity. “Defending two Castles” has a quick moving pace from double bass and fast picked guitar notes. Some of the lead breaks remind me of something you might hear on IRON MAIDEN’s debut.

“Trapped in 1999” closes the album. It’s a pretty fitting title for the album as a whole, as it does indeed sound trapped in time. I would never begrudge an artist for creating the kind of music that they feel in their soul. But re-hashing the past doesn’t have much of a practical use in the modern music scene. There is nothing wrong with their musicianship, but if they have plans to stick around today they have to develop a better sense of their own identity, and a more clear production value.

Songwriting: 4
Originality: 2
Memorability: 3
Production: 5

2 Star Rating

1. The Missionary
2. Chance
3. Nothing but a Bitter Taste
4. Gilded Men
5. God of Punishment
6. Demon Mind
7. Defending two Castles
8. Trapped in 1999
Joe McDonnell – Bass, Vocals
Chris Condie – Drums
Gerry Mulholland – Guitars, Vocals
Record Label: Hostile Media


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green