Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

34 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Raging Fate – Gods Of Terror

Raging Fate
Gods Of Terror
by Erik Akos at 23 February 2018, 12:18 AM

RAGING FATE are a swedish Power Metal group from Karlskoga. Initially formed as a one-man-project of frontman, bassist and rhythm guitarist Mattias Lövdal, the trio released their debut LP in 2017 via Stormspell Records, which of course, will be today’s subject matter.
The best way that I can describe the album’s style and atmosphere is that it’s a hybrid of Power and Thrash metal with a dystopian theme. I think that definitely qualifies as a positive, because it takes a lot away from the overall cheesiness of Power Metal that I hate. Don’t get me wrong, it still possesses that really epic and grandiose musical attitude, but the experience itself isn’t as cringy.

The songwriting itself? Eh, I guess it’s mostly okay. This is honestly one of the more original Power Metal records that I’ve heard. The incorporation of Thrash elements raised the quality of the effort, and it is a reasonably refreshing jump to the darker side of ”epicness” with tracks such as  ”Evilization” and ”Tombstone”, both of which have different, though great vocal performances and riffs, with the latter containing a really catchy chorus.

There aren’t many standouts though. There’s the 7-minute-long slow-paced ”Shores in Flames”, which isn’t particularly more interesting or enjoyable, but fits in well with the album’s context and is probably the track with the least amount of Power Metal elements; even though it’s VERY reminiscent of MANOWAR’s musical style.

And that’s pretty much it. Okay album, the tracks all have the same quality, nothing revolutionary, but perfect for someone who’s tired of the ”epic” (more like cringe) clichés of Power Metal. I strongly feel this band has lot of potential and should further develop their thrashy PM sound, and then perhaps they could make a strong 9/10 record some time.

Songwriting: 6
Originality: 6
Memorability: 5
Production: 7

3 Star Rating

  1. Gods of Terror
  2. Evilization
  3. Tombstone
  4. Shores in Flames
  5. Purifying Fire
  6. Trapped in The Lie
  7. Vampire
  8. A Bitter Mans Fate
  9. Reign of Evil
  10. The Curse
Mattias Lövdal – Vocals, Guitars, Bass
Andreas Andersson – Guitars
Ronny Milianowicz – Drums
Record Label: Stormspell Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green