Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

35 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Raven - All For One (Reissue) Award winner

All For One (Reissue)
by Lior "Steinmetal" Stein at 28 June 2017, 10:01 PM

It is said through various sources that 1983 was a pinnacle chapter for the RAVEN trio, possibly considered their foremost even to date. Clinging on to the British Label Neat Records for the last time before heading for the stars, RAVEN released “All For One”, no less than an achievement of the post era of NWOBHM. Dissonance Productions made sure that this release wouldn’t go out of fashion and reissued it along with a selection of unreleased tracks and covers that would clearly prove the might and influence of a trio of frenzy Metalheads that never walked the walk or talked the talk of the awful mainstream, it has always been mind over Metal. Even without getting to review the sophomore, “Wiped Out”, originally released a year earlier than “All For One”, it became quite evident that RAVEN evolved into a Heavy Metal monster. A beast that their attitude, sound and musical approach would influence many.

So let’s start with their sound. Certainly not my first time with this record, but after digging into it, I noticed how the slightly polished production took hold of the younger bands of the age, it is no less than overwhelming. Well, the drum sound could have used an additional punch, as it is within ACCEPT’s “Balls To The Wall” for instance, but other than that, pure metallic plan of attack that rougned things up. As for attitude, the mania within the debut “Rock Until You Drop” appeared mild in the sight of “All For One”, mainly thanks again to the sonic vocals of the endless John Gallagher, therefore, I believe that you know where I am getting at. Furthermore, there is quite a closeness to the vigor of JUDAS PRIEST and ACCEPT of that period, which is a definite exciter. Musically, “All For One” is a setting stone of the purity of Metal, simple and to the point speed, fired up on the lead guitar hysteria, hooking straightforward heaviness and heavenly made roughness, giving Rock N’ Roll a chance to live only once while letting the more of the teeth sink into the steel plated armor.

Assembled for the fight, I was immediately obliterated by RAVEN’s ability to create Metal hymns. The self-titled is a feast for every Metal audience, screaming the feverish chorus as the battle march commences, a tough mid-tempo hit that was bound to survive the test of time. “Run Silent Run Deep” as the somewhat complex catchy note, delivering tasty riffery and one hell of an atmospheric C part that would rattle your ears. “Take It Away” is probably the heaviest track of the album, surely an equal to one of METALLICA’s tracks off the debut. I was doped by the song’s decisiveness right from the get go. “Inquisitor”, featuring ex-ACCEPT’s then screamer, Udo Dirkschneider, raise a fine notion that it would have been if there were further co-works with the band. This is the best version of the song, no doubt about it. Other amazing tracks to listen to or perish: Speed Metal bashes of “Mind Over Metal” and “Hung Drawn & Quartered”, “Seek & Destroy”, the cover of STEPPENWOLF’s hit “Born To Be Wild”, also featuring Dirkschneider killing it with a great duet with Gallagher, and finally the live version of “Mind Over Metal” that displayed an unstoppable force.

“All For One” was ought to be regarded as a major step in Metal music in the 80s, and also as a food for thought for younger bands keeping the flame alive. This is a prime release that should find its way to your collection.


4 Star Rating

1. Take Control
2. Mind Over Metal
3. Sledgehammer Rock
4. All For One
5. Run Silent Run Deep
6. Hung Drawn & Quartered
7. Break The Chain
8. Take It Away
9. Seek & Destroy
10. Athletic Rock
11. Born To Be Wild (Steppenwolf Cover)*
12. Ballad Of Marshall Stack
13. Inquisitor*
14. Mind Over Metal (Live)
15. The Power And The Glory
John Gallagher - Vocals / Bass
Mark Gallagher - Guitars
Rob "Wacko" Hunter - Drums
Udo Dirkschneider - Vocals*
Record Label: Dissonance Productions


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green