Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

63 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Reactory – Collapse to Come Award winner

Collapse to Come
by Mark Weeks at 07 April 2020, 2:41 PM

SODOM, KREATOR and DESTRUCTION. Germany has had some killer Thrash bands through the history of the genre. I have personally always found the German scene to be a bit more underground and raw and now we have the band REACTORY to slam us with raw reckless abandon. A quick look over the band promo sheet and I learn they toured with DRI which is a good a place to start as any.

I find REACTORY to be a band that straddles that crossover line. The album cover gives me that S.O.D. / SODOM vibe…. And I’m ok with that. Vocals kind of have a Tom Araya raw in your face punch to them which perfectly blends with the bludgeoning riffs. The band has gone on record to say they play thrash and that’s what the aim to do. There are no experimental instrumentals or flirtations with electronica. This band wants to thrash til’ death. I can hear a possible ANNIHILATOR influence on songs like "Misantropical Island" and "Enemy".

This band has done its homework and learned to play well. Every song is tight and intricate while still being raw. That’s an impressive feat. Usually with bands this tight, they lose the raw aspect. "Drone Commander" is another standout tracks. The ANNIHILATOR-style melodic riffs lead into trim picked riffs and D beats.  The bands guitar tone is perfectly tweaked and honed to perfection. I would be quite interested to learn the gear used. "Space Hex," "Born from Sorrow" and "Galactic Ghosts" are other stand out tracks on this album. If you are looking for kickass modern Thrash and have never heard REACTORY, do it. This album is going to quickly move them up the ranks.

Songwriting: 9
Musicianship: 9
Memorability: 9
Production: 8

4 Star Rating

1. Space Hex
2. Speedboat Piracy
3. Graves of Concrete
4. Misantropical Island
5. Drone Commander
6. Evolving Hate
7. Born From Sorrow
8. Galactic Ghosts
9. Enemy
Hans Hornung – Vocals
Jerome 'Jerry' Düren – Guitar
Ulli Hoffmann – Bass
Caue Dos Santos – Drums
Record Label: Iron Shield Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 01 April 2023

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green