Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

34 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Reaper X – Rise

Reaper X
by Brian "Metal" Morton at 05 May 2019, 4:59 PM

Coming out of the United Kingdom is the Thrash Metal band REAPER X and their freshman album “Rise”. The band is made up of five members Scott Litster on Vocals, Jake Coles on Bass, Drew Reilly and Mark Innocent on Guitars and finally Carl Sheldrick on drums. The first track on the album is just an instrumental intro properly called “Intro”. The song is just shy of two minutes long but damn good for an instrumental intro.

The second song up is called “Blood in the Air” which is about as Thrash as you can get. It has solid riffs and excellent drum work. If you are a fan of bands like TESTAMENT and ANTHRAX this album is right up your alley. Up next we have “Reaper” which is excellent. It really has an old school feel to it but with a modern twist. It’s really well written and I enjoyed it a lot. The fourth song up is “Fury in Flames” which picks up the albums pace a bit. It almost reminded me of some Hardcore from the early 2000’s with some Punk influences.

“Adrift” brings us to the halfway mark and this song surprised the hell out of me. It’s nothing like the previous songs. Clean vocals galore and not as heavy. The song isn’t bad at all but it kinda reminds me of what some would consider radio rock. I do like that they changed it up a little so that the album didn’t become stale. Also the solo on the song is pretty legit. “Diplomatic Solution” brings us right back into the heavy side of things and does an excellent job of doing so. This is probably one of the heavier songs on the album so far. The song even has a few gutterals which were a nice addition.

“Rise” is the longest song on the album at almost seven minutes long. This song really is what I consider Thrash and it is really damn good. I really enjoyed the guitars on this song, they are crisp and chuggy. “Red Menace” is my favorite song as far as heaviness goes. This is one of those songs that makes you want to fight everyone near you. The musicianship in this song is the best I have heard on the album so far. The breakdown is is fucking immaculate. The final song “Noose” is pretty good but if it had been up to me I would have put “Red Menace” last. This entire album is really well written and I wish the band the best of luck in their future.

Songwriting: 8
Memorability: 7
Originality: 7
Production: 10

4 Star Rating

1. Intro
2. Blood in the Air
3. Reaper
4. Fury in Flames
5. Adrift
6. Diplomatic Solution
7. Rise
8. Red Menace
9. Noose
Scott Litster – Vocals
Jake Coles – Bass
Drew Reilly – Guitar
Mark Innocent – Guitar
Carl Sheldrick – Drums
Record Label: Sliptrick Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green