Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

62 guests

Welcome to our newest member, Nlcookuk

Rebel Souls - The Forces Of Darkness

Rebel Souls
The Forces Of Darkness
by Andrej Romić (Nekrst Fanzine) at 18 July 2017, 3:50 PM

Germany is very well-known for putting out quality Thrash Metal, however, this time I’ll be presenting you a nasty Death/Black Metal combination played by the band called REBEL SOULS.

Originally formed in 2000, they were active until 2003, before breaking up and putting the band to rest until 2014. In between those dates they have released a few demo tapes, a single and their only full-length (so far) “The Forces of Darkness”. Although the band is only a duo, they still sound pretty good, and their debut full-length proves so. Originally released on February 24th, 2017, via Art Gates Records, it has some decent album artwork and eight songs; allow me to dive into some of them.

From the acoustic intro track “The Awakening” through to “Descent” I enjoyed what I heard. There is sharp, energetic riff work, lots of blast-beat drumming and on point vocals that lean toward the Death Metal side, whilst spiced up a bit by the Black Metal side. The guitar solos and everything else is well executed. The songs aren’t too long either, and they showcase some real skills of the members. The album featured Stefan Hielscher on the bass guitar and the vocals, Thomas Plewnia on guitars and James Stewart on drums.

Onto some more songs, “Acrimony” starts off with a chilly bass line, and it slowly warms up the atmosphere, but when it’s done, it’s just done, and lets all hell get loose. The song is a continuation of the previous one and the vocals this time are more Black Metal-oriented and feature some nasty screaming; the musical side is also pretty good, and I must take my hat off to it, because it’s done with great precision. Every instrument sounds perfect and loud enough, plus the production can’t get enough praise, because it’s just too good.

Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Memorability: 7
Production: 7

3 Star Rating

1.The Awakening
4.Decay of a God
5.The Elementar
6.Dark Forces
7.Fourfold Wrath
Stefan Hielscher - Bass, Vocals
Thomas Plewnia - Guitars
James Stewart - Drums
Record Label: Art Gates Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 19 January 2021

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green