Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

Steinmetal, ProfBurp, 41 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Red Sand – The Sound of the Seventh Bell

Red Sand
The Sound of the Seventh Bell
by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 19 November 2021, 9:03 AM

RED SAND, a Canadian Progressive Rock band formed in 2004, has been broadening its fan base more and more as the years go by. Recently, they released their 10th studio album titled “The Sound of the Seventh Bell.” This new opus was based on the seven capital sins, nothing less. The band has never backed away from telling stories as they are, whether it is cruelty to animals, crooked government business, pedophilia or how badly human beings can sometimes be treated. The album contains eight tracks.

“The Sound of the Seventh Bell Part 1” leads off the album. It opens with bell strikes followed by acoustical guitars. Vocals are harmonized at first…terse and emotional. The mood is somber and melancholy. Thick bass guitar note roll in and the mood changes to brighter and cheerier. “Reichenbach” also begins with acoustic guitars, with delicate leanings. Lead guitar notes roll in the background, following the melody line closely. This instrumental produces mostly sad and pensive tones, giving you pause to reflect. “Insatiable” is a fourteen-minute opus. Beginning with light keys and vocals, bass rolls in with leads and carries the melody forward. The lead notes are quite soulful. The sound shifts before the half-way mark with more solemn tones. Rounding the ten-minute mark, it shifts again, ending with a little more sonority.

“Breathing” is a shorter song, with more acoustical guitars and meaty bass notes. The vocals finally break out a bit, pushing into the upper registers with more emotional tones. “The Sound of the Seventh Bell Part 2” begins with piano and keys. It shifts to an upbeat melody that is quite memorable. The keys take over what would be vocals if there were any, and you can feel their energy. Bass notes thwack away over leads in a mire of melancholy tones where I just question they are leading to. “The Sound of the Seventh Bell Part 3” is a brief and powerful two minutes of charming and “outer-worldly” keys.

“Cracked Road” is a 21-minute beast, beginning with light keys that pulse with life. Soulful lead guitars join in. It isn’t until the four-minute mark before the steady rhythm develops. The sound is again very melancholy with pensive vocals. Closing in around the half-way mark, the sound drops to mostly meaty bass guitar notes, with some piano interspersed. A swinging rhythm develops, with more positive tones. It carries forward with more positive notes towards the end. “I Can Feel It” closes the album. It features a slow, sad rhythm. It’s a perfect closing song, sung with a lot of emotions.

One thing that the band is very good at is restraint before finally showing their hand. Leading you exactly where they want to, the ride is somewhat clouded by a host of possibilities, any of which could be your path…all of which could be your path. The music implores you to just let go and enjoy the ride. Where it is headed however I am not sure…perhaps this is an album all about the journey and not the destination.

Songwriting: 8
Musicianship: 8
Memorability: 5
Production: 8

Purchase Link:

3 Star Rating

1. The Sound of the Seventh Bell Part 1
2. Reichenbach
3. Insatiable
4. Breathing
5. The Sound of the Seventh Bell Part 2
6. The Sound of the Seventh Bell Part 3
7. Cracked Road
8. I Can Feel it
Steff – Vocals
Perry Angelillo – Drums
Simon Caron – Guitar, Bass, Keyboards
Record Label: Unicorn Digital


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green