Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

33 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Renaissance Of Fools - Spring

Renaissance Of Fools
by YngwieViking at 01 July 2015, 1:16 PM

“Spring” is the title of the album number two for this Swedish Prog/experimental Metal project RENAISSANCE OF FOOLS a dual-head project hailing from Falun…An ambitious dark musical concept created by ex PAIN OF SALVATION guitarist/composer Daniel Magdic and THALAMUS drummer Magnus Karlsson, stylistically cast upon the same recipe of intriguing Progressive themes, around Nordic and depressive roots, with multilayered vocals, mostly settled in a plaintive patterns and monotonous moods, extremely tainted by a strong 70’s sound in the old organic fashion, alternatively switching between dirty and elegant tones!

The RENAISSANCE OF FOOLS team has faced some personnel hassle, they had made some changes since the release of their first opus “Fear, hope and Frustration” (Metalville), while they were writing for their second full length (a semi concept album in five chapter), they begin to work with singer David Engström (frontman for SILENT NATION) and the new Bassist Linus Carlsson (ex KAMTCHATKA) who brings some new found Heaviness/Psychedelic Stoner low ends (“Scars“).

The album called “Spring” refering to the Mid-Eastern revolution, also contains some additional guest appearance by ex PAIN OF SALVATION’s bandmate Kristoffer Gildenlöw .

Today, Metalville Records is one of the most attractive underground Metal-label in Europe founded by Dolphin Entertainment boss Chris Boltendahl (GRAVE DIGGER) and Holger Koch regarded as one of the most promising and influential management agency.

Metalville Records is optimized as the perfect tool for the network of partners and bands in their roster, with the signing of some profile act such as AIRSTREAM or NOTURNALL and now trying to develop with challenging things like RENAISSANCE OF FOOLS their will is clearly to expand their supremacy over the Traditional Metal circle and this expanding desire is quite logical.

Personally, if i enjoyed the whole early courageous concept, I’m a little concerned by the relative uniformity of the songs the overall musical is set in dizzy, dark, bleak, moody and a bit depressing or even lethargic atmosphere, and I’m obviously a little disappointed by the vocal style, maybe too controlled or too poppy, I was expecting something more dynamic and varied… Ok, maybe I should confess it… I was hoping for something more Metal!

Too cerebral, odd and narcissistic yet still creative and finally destined to be a discussed item by an exacting picky guild of Aristocratic resistance, you know those specialists that are only enthusiastic for uncommon, innovative, intensive and complicated music…

After a very strong opener and a couple of cuts with great elements, the closing five pieces motif about the Arabic Spring is a letdown…If its symbolic of an atmospheric Proggy state of mind, if its set obviously in a musically rich perspective with some impressive instrumental talent, if it’s harmonically demanding…Well, it’s also nevertheless stuck in a difficult level setting, under one ideal of intellectual music, lost in an embolism of recurrent thematic, very unmoving and too pretentious for my taste…Except the faster pace of “On Your Knees” that display a more engaging feeling, the second part of “Spring” is hermetical to say the least, and it won’t wait for you to be in the right mood!

The 2010’s Spring revolution conclusion was a disaster, it leads to chaos and to the hegemonic domination of the extremist religious and the narrow minded people…The music of RENAISSANCE OF FOOLS is on the opposite, subtle, smart and designated for the elitist taste of a bunch of Prog experts… By the way, the Spring season is over!

3 Star Rating

1. Counting Down
2. Internal Carousel
3. Scars
4. Spring: Prelude
5. Spring: On Your Knees
6. Spring: State Of Opression
7. Spring: Revolution
8. Spring: A New Dawn
Daniel Magdic – Guitar/Vocals
Magnus Karlsson - Drums
Linus Carlsson - Bass
David Engström – Lead Vocals
Record Label: Metalville Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 09 December 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green