Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

49 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Revmatic - Rising Of The Sword

Rising Of The Sword
by Matt Coe at 22 April 2014, 9:53 AM

The fourth album from Kingston, Ontario’s REVMATIC “Rising of the Sword” comes 6 years after their last effort – and is the first with second guitarist Trevor Wilson who joined the ranks in 2011. This 14 track platter features a down to earth, gritty Hard Rock / Metal style, something akin to what you would hear on a lot of modern rock or classic rock radio stations in North America today.

A big positive to the sound of the band is the fact that Keith’s bass isn’t buried behind a pure wall of guitars- especially prevalent on “Shooting Your Mouth Off” and “Fire in Disguise”. Otherwise the band seem to favor a mid-tempo or slightly faster metal stance – keeping the rhythms and riffs straightforward and the grooves locked and loaded for maximum energy transfer and exchange. Latter day METALLICA and AVENGED SEVENFOLD are two prominent reference points when taking in the double bass charged title cut and the highway anthem closer “The Path You Roam”.

Where I struggle to fully engage in the REVMATIC style is the vocal delivery from Nathan Yatter. His raspy, hoarse mid-range melodies could be so much more convincing with a little more coaching and depth- and I think the choruses can be a tad too repetitive, making “Already Gone” and “You Break” slightly pedestrian. Decent production values and obvious attention to basic songwriting 101 detail does help elevate much of this material – and I would imagine the band comes to life on stage as the amplifiers and adrenaline fuels the fire.

“Rising of the Sword” isn’t bad per se, it just could be so much better if the band is willing to up their vocal game.


3 Star Rating

1. The King of Destruction
2. Rising of the Sword
3. Lost Control
4. Run For Your Life
5. Wall of Sound
6. Already Gone
7. Shooting Your Mouth Off
8. No One Has Won
9. You Break
10. Persistence
11. Fire in Disguise
12. See Me Coming Alive
13. This Is Gonna Hurt
14. The Path You Roam
Nathan Yetter – Guitar, Vocals
Trevor Wilson - Guitar
Keith Daigle – Bass
Rob Baker – Drums
Record Label: Iron Fist Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 09 December 2022

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green