Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

35 guests

Welcome to our newest member, AlexBarnard

Richard Andersson - The Ultimate Andersson Collection (CD)

Richard Andersson
The Ultimate Andersson Collection
by Michael Dalakos at 02 April 2006, 8:05 PM

Sometimes you just have to know when enough is enough. While most people around me considered Richard Andersson nothing more than a rip off of other neoclassical keyboard players, I was always open minded towards his works. Maybe this was because he always had great vocalists along his side or something else.
This compilation contains songs from all three bands the huge keyboard player has formed so far: Time Requiem, Majestic and Space Odyssey. However, and as far as I understood, this compilation does not include the original compositions but rather new versions. I can't recall the original compositions that much (I have mostly listened to the two albums from Majestic and I have heard songs from the rest of Richard's releases) but there are some differences. And here's where the tall guy trips over his own leg. I don't know if he has chosen a new vocalist just to give a natural flow to the whole package or it has something to do with copyright but it is rather obvious that Goran Edman can't deliver the goods this time. I love his voice but he isn't Apollo Papathanasiou nor Patrik Johansson. This steals several points away from the whole package.
On the other hand if you haven't heard any of Mr. Andersson's works so far, you should know that he is known for his neoclassical Metal (Majestic & Space Odyssey) and Progressive Metal (Time Requiem) quests. Fans of Yngwie Malmsteen / Stratovarius will definitely find this interesting enough and a good introduction to the works of the artist. Personally however I prefer the original versions…

3 Star Rating

Time Requiem
Attar Of Roses
Black Moon Rising
Above And Beyond
Golden Sea
The Rapture Of Canaan
Visions Of A New Dawn
Voodoo Treasure
Richard Andersson - Keyboards
Goran Edman - Vocals
Jorg Andrews - Drums
Andy Rose - Bass
Magnus Nilsson - Guitars
Record Label: Metal Heaven


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green