Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

44 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Ride The Sky - New Protection (CD)

Ride The Sky
New Protection
by Dimitris Kontogeorgakos at 12 July 2007, 2:00 PM

RIDE THE SKY belongs to the cases that are often called super groups. This title comes from the band's lineup that features five most experienced musicians who have already been serving the music industry for quite some years.
The first name that strikes out from the lineup is of course Uli Kusch who has sat behind the drum kit for famous Metal acts like HELLOWEEN, GAMMA RAY and MASTERPLAN. While he was a member of the latter band, Kusch met the vocalist Bjorn Jansson (TEARS OF AGONY and BEYOND TWILIGHT) in order to exchange some musical ideas. This artistic contact turned into collaboration while the new TEARS OF AGONY was on the making. RIDE THE SKY was actually born when the keyboard player Kaspar Dahlqvist (DIONYSUS, CIRCLE II CIRLCE) and the bassist Mathias Garnas (XSAVIOR) joined the company of Kusch,  Bjorn Jansson and Benny Jansson (XSAVIOR, TEARS OF AGONY).
The question that lies is whether the aforementioned rich curriculum vitas can be combined to create a matching album to the unofficial super group title. Fortunately, for me (and for others I hope) New Protection is not another Euro Power predictable Metal album with straightforward arrangements and catchy guitars hooks. The album bears a MASTERPLAN atmosphere with some nicely put Progressive Metal finishing touches that make the package really interesting.  Bjorn Jansson has a wonderful voice that has been deeply influenced by Jorn Lande performance and this was exactly the reason why he was chosen as Lande's replacement behind BEYOND TWILIGHT's microphone. His harsh and powerful vocals adapt in the melodic and the powerful melodies at ease, making RIDE THE SKY sound solid as hell.
The keyboards play a very important role in New Protection building an excellent atmosphere and often serve as backing vocals. The compact rhythm section in songs like Silent War, Break The Chain or Corroded Dreams outline and support the above saying. The band touches the Progressive Metal territory with the insane keyboard - guitar duel in the fast paced The Prince Of Darkness and reveal the Power Metal foundations in the groovy Far Beyond The Stars, or the aggressive Black Cloud.  The pompous and epic A Crank In The Wall, the sing-along New Protection or the emotional Heaven Only Knows are among the albums highlight that make me wish this is not the product of a project but of a full time band.
RIDE THE SKY have managed to put together an excellent album for all the fans who are into MASTERPLAN, SILENT FORCE and most of Jorn's personal albums. So, if you like bombastic keyboards, strong melodies and wide ranged vocals then trust Metal Temple's opinion and check this release out!

4 Star Rating

New Protection
A Smile from Heaven's Eye
Silent War
The Prince of Darkness
Break the Chain
Corroded Dreams
The End of Days
Far Beyond the Stars
Black Cloud
Heaven Only Knows
A Crack in the Wall
Bjorn Jansson - Vocals
Kaspar Dahlqvist - Keyboards
Benny Jansson - Guitar
Mathias Granas - Bass
Uli Kusch - Drums
Record Label: Nuclear Blast


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green