Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

53 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Rienaus – Luciferille

by Dave "That Metal Guy" Campbell at 07 December 2022, 6:23 AM

RIENAUS is a Black/Death Metal band formed in Finland in 2009. “Luciferille” is their third album, and contains eight songs. “Alkusoitto” is the first; a short intro song with tense tones and airy backing vocals that seem to disappear in the wind. “Uhrattavaksi Siunattu” features a slow groove in the opening sequence, complete with might and vocal screams. The pace quickens and drops but all we really hear are the continued screams of agony. The title track is about half as long, but again, besides the steady riffing and drumming, the focus seems to be on the vocal screams alone.

“Saatanan Valakunnassa” is another shorter song with an increase in chaos and power. But again, those screams…are getting old. If this is all we have to look forward to, we are in for a long day. “Äärellä Viimeisen Porti” is more of the same. I am somewhat dumbfounded that we have an album here where nearly every song sounds exactly the same. “Pedon Merkki” is slower and has a heavier bottom end, but, you guessed it, brings nearly the exact same sound once again, and I am running out of things to say.

“Kuilu” begins with another slow pace, but again, it’s just a simple riff with repeated screams. I am finding it hard to even call this music in a sense. “Äänet yössä” closes the album, and that couldn’t come any sooner for me. I really don’t get it, Finland is usually a hot bed for original Metal bands including those in the Black Metal genre. This album however features one riff in each song and then screams in the same key over and over again. Who does that?

Songwriting: 1
Musicianship: 3
Memorability: 1
Production: 5

1 Star Rating

1. Alkusoitto
2. Uhrattavaksi Siunattu
3. Luciferille
4. Saatanan Valtakunnassa
5. Äärellä Viimeisen Porti
6. Pedon Merkki
7. Kuilu
8. Äänet yössä
Mavrofos – All instruments, Vocals, Guitars, Bass
Ammutseba – Guitars
Faen – Drums
Aghori – Guitars
Lucifuge Rofocale – Bass
Record Label: KVLT


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green