Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

27 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Rings Of Saturn - Lugal Ki En

Rings Of Saturn
Lugal Ki En
by Aaron "Five Magics" Price at 17 December 2014, 4:54 PM

Okay, here's the thing-everyone was talking about this album with such praise and maybe it made me expect more from it; I've never listened to Rings Of Saturn before getting this album and I was thinking "man, this is gonna be amazing!" The thing with "Lugal Ki En" is the instrumentals are a blast, some melodic, but it's just a lot of blast beats and breakdowns. Maybe I should have expected that from a Deathcore band but this was way up there. The screams hit a point where it's whiny and not enjoyable. The lows hit points where they just seems like someone is just gurgling and at some points in there the vocals are bearable.

The album itself is 11 original songs and a cover of the Suicide Silence classic "No Pity For A Coward" right at the end. The original songs seem to just blend into each other, and seem to offer the same explosive sounds that the last one made. The guitars are hectic and sometimes take away from the track with the way they're implemented, "Unsympathetic Intellect" is an example of this. The guitar is doing something unpredictable in any way and although normally that would be fun with this it doesn't blend, it just sits on top of the other instruments like mud on nice hardwood floors. The cover at the end is shameful, I'm far from being the biggest Suicide Silence fan but I do enjoy some of their songs and "No Pity For A Coward" is one of them. This cover doesn't keep true to the original at all especially vocally, although it offers a new perspective of the song. This probably wasn't the right song to go with.

I seem time be the only person who thinks this album is being blown up to be more than it actually is. It's a cool idea but it's something I don't see myself coming back to anytime soon.

2 Star Rating

1. Senseless Massacre
2. Desolate Paradise
3. Lalassu Xul
4. Infused
5. Fractal Intake
6. Natural Selection
7. Beckon
8. Godless Times
9. Unsympathetic Intellect
10. Eviscerate
11. The Heavens Have Fallen
12. No Pity For A Coward
Ian Bearer - Vocals
Lucas Mann - Guitars, Bass
Joel Omans - Guitars
Record Label: Unique Leader Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green