Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

44 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Riot - Shine On (Reissue)

Shine On (Reissue)
by Daniel Stefanov at 18 July 2017, 11:44 AM

RIOT - the band currently rocking as RIOT V, since the tragic passing of their founder and only remaining member of the original lineup - Mark Reale - are among the most overlooked titans of old-school heavy/power metal. And I say overlooked, because, despite having many people appreciate the quality of their work, RIOT never reached the peak of glory and popularity that they really deserve, in my opinion - and that is that they are among the absolute quintessential American metal acts. Not solely for the astonishing drive of their music, but also because of how solid they remained in the face of numerous lineup changes and through the course of years. The band has been pouring out album after album for over four decades, their latest full-length release - "Unleash The Fire" of 2014 - still upholding to the formula of classic old-school power metal. Five years after the passing of the main man behind this shining example of almost half a decade of power, one of the bands most iconic live compilations - "Shine On" - is being re-released with bonus materials, giving fans another chance to celebrate the decades of music that Mark and the other amazing member of the band gifted to the world, and relive the atmosphere and energy of the live shows.

Twenty tracks in almost an hour and a half of remastered music, accompanied with a live DVD, this is one of three albums re-released simultaneously, along with the 1997 and 1999 classics "Inishmore" and "Sons of Society". There is a noticeable improvement in the sound, compared to the initial release, guitars and vocals are more crisp and clear, same goes for the drums. It is highly recommended to listen to this on good quality headphones. It helps classics like "Nightbreaker", "Inishmore", "Warrior" and "Cry for the Dying" "shine on" even brighter than before.The bonus DVD features a full show recorded in 1998 in Japan, twenty-seven tracks and total of about two hours of raw live power metal. "Shine On" is a great blast from the past, and this bonus edition, featuring three additional tracks to complete the lineup of twenty true classics, and a full live DVD, is a must-have for every fan of the band, and a great addition for everyone who likes real old-school heavy and power metal, and the atmosphere of the live performance.

Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Memorability: 9
Production: 10

5 Star Rating

1. Black Water (Live)
2. Angel Eyes (Live)
3. Soldier (Live)
4. The Man (Live)
5. Kings Are Falling (Live)
6. Bloodstreets (Live)
7. Watching the Signs (Bonus Track) \[Live]
8. Swords and Tequila (Live)
9. Cry for the Dying (Live)
10. Inishmore (Forsaken Heart) \[Live]
11. Inishmore (Live)
12. Danny Boy (Live)
13. Liberty (Live)
14. Gypsy (Live)
15. The Last of the Mohicans (Intro) \[Live]
16. Glory Calling (Live)
17. Thundersteel (Live)
18. Nightbreaker (Bonus Track) \[Live]
19. Outlaw (Live)
20. Warrior (Live)
Mark Reale - Guitars
Bobby Jarzombek - Drums
Mike Flyntz - Guitars
Pete Perez - Bass
Mike DiMeo - Vocals, Keyboards
Record Label: Metal Blade Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green