Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

32 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Rob Zombie - The Lunar Injection Kool Aid Eclipse Conspiracy Award winner

Rob Zombie
The Lunar Injection Kool Aid Eclipse Conspiracy
by Laura Glover at 24 March 2021, 6:30 AM

The man, the LEGEND, that all of us 90’s kids grew up bumping on our stereos loud enough to piss off the neighbors is BAAAAAAACK! ROB ZOMBIE returns from the abyss, bringing us their newest album, “The Lunar Injection Kool Aid Eclipse Conspiracy”. This is the bands seventh studio release to date. This album comes in at #9 on the US Billboard Charts and a slamming #1 on the US Independent Albums Billboard Charts, also in the top ten Billboards for five other categories and countries combined. But is that really much of a surprise since many of us grew up to ROB ZOMBIE, like myself; and as such ROB ZOMBIE is intrinsic to our tastes of music today.  The musical style is Hard Rock, with some Folk Rock mixed in, and the album comes in at just over 40 minutes long. If you rocked out to “Dragula” back in the day, get ready for some heavy nostalgia. ROB ZOMBIE stuck to their original style, which I found to be an epic relief. You ever play an album from an old favorite band of yours, only to find out they changed styles and now sucks? Well, this is NOT that!! This is like a new version of an old friend, thank you so much for that ROB ZOMBIE!

The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)” - Serious “Dragula” vibes right off the bat in this song. The bass is pretty nice throughout as well. Remember bumping ZOMBIE on your car stereos really loud way back when? Well, buckle up for a flashback. I used to cruise when I was younger to songs like these. The beat is catchy and easy to listen to over and over. “Hovering Over the Dull Earth” - Techno-ish going into this song, mixed right in with that folk metal/hard rock sound. But let’s first touch on how cool the name of the song is. How many times have you felt like you’ve been “Hovering Over a Dull Earth”? I can say, more times than I can count. The techno part of this song really lends to the “psychonaut” air it has. “Shadow of the Cemetery Man” - Witchy undertones, gothic, folky, and techno all rolled into one. In the way only ROB ZOMBIE can do. Their unique sound so many fell so in love with is deeply present here. The bass guitar in this song stands out, kind of like listening to Les Claypool slap the bass. “18th Century Cannibals, Excitable Morlocks & a One Way Ticket on the Ghost Train” - Ever wonder what it might sound like to ride a ghost train? The beat of this song is very good at invoking that feeling. The intervals of guitar have this super fantastical and mind-altering sound, “get on board the Ghost Train” to the void.

The Eternal Struggles of the Howling Man” - The opening organ notes lend a dreadful air, like a funeral pyre. Yet the fast beat it evolves to sweeps you away in a madness of Rob’s unmisakable voice. “Power to the people”, words we can all relate to after what we are coming out of as a society… hopefully coming out of, that is. I would love to see the light show that might accompany this at a live show. So, please come back to Montana for a show as soon as possible! Please and thank you. “The Much Talked of Metamorphosis” - This song is a gem, a hidden gem amongst a wild ride of an album; we have this instrumental and soft song. Filled with some STUNNING guitar notes, the song almost sounding acoustic as a whole. Definitely not what I expected to hear on this album, but I like and appreciate it. “Shake Your AssSmoke Your Grass” - The first lines of the song remind me of some PINK FLOYD nuance. That is until we get to the chorus. It is worth noting and appropriate that I am totally smoking some grass while I listen and write. This absolutely could be your stoner anthem. Here’s toking to you out there! \\m/  “The Serenity of Witches” - This song has a melodic entry that has a slight techno aftertaste to it. True to its name, this is a witchy sounding song. Dark and volatile, sensual like something you should not have but want anyway.

I want to close here by saying how much I enjoyed reviewing this album. ROB ZOMBIE takes me back! Way back!! On some level, no matter how deep I go into the world of Underground Metal, I will always be a ZOMBIE fan too. If anything, I would thank this band for the years' worth of memories and being with me during those times; so, so many fun times. And to the rest of the world out there, you have not lived this year unless you’ve checked out “The Lunar Injection Kool Aid Eclipse Conspiracy”.

Songwriting: 10
Musicianship: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 10

5 Star Rating

1. Expanding Head of Zed
2. The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
3. The Ballad of Sleazy Rider
4. Hovering Over Dull Earth
5. Shadow of the Cemetery Man
6. A Brief Static Hum and Then the Radio Blared
7. 18th Century Cannibals, Excitable Morlocks and a One-Way Ticket on the Ghost Train
8. The Eternal Struggles of the Howling Man
9. The Much Talked of Metamorphosis
10.  The Satanic Rites of Blacula
11. Shower of Stones
12. Shake Your Ass - Smoke Your Grass
13. Boom-Boom-Boom
14. What You Gonna Do with That Gun Mama?
15. Get Lose
16. The Serenity of Witches
17. Crow Killer Blues
Rob Zombie – Lead Vocals
John 5 – Guitars, Backing Vocals
Piggy D- Bass, Backing Vocals
Ginger Fish – Drums
Record Label: Nuclear Blast Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green