Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

58 guests

Welcome to our newest member, patrickbarnes

Lee Small - The Last Man On Earth

Lee Small
The Last Man On Earth
by Craig Rider at 12 May 2023, 3:16 PM

Metal maniacs, rejoice! I am proud to present to you: LEE SMALL; signed via Metalville Records, hailing from England - performing Hard FM & AOR, on the sophomore full-length studio album entitled: "The Last Man On Earth" (released May 26th, 2023). Since formation in 1990; the supergroup in question have only 2 full-length studio albums in their discography so far entitled: "Jamaica Inn" (released 20/01/2012) & this here 2nd album of which I am introduced to entitled: "The Last Man On Earth". With 13 tracks under his belt; LEE SMALL arranges an intricately designed formula on some heavy-hitting Hard FM/AOR amalgamations.

Opening up with this majestic synth of sanguine soundscapes; this rollicking rhythm of ethereal ebullience euphonically entrances eardrums with rampantly rompy riffage within the mystifying titular track "The Last Man On Earth", amplified hooks then attribute in elegantly exquisite rhythms that's sublime and catchy. A flamboyant fabrication in easy-listening harmony elements at a radio-friendly reverie that's most delightful, instrumentally and vocally speaking. Main man Lee Small executes at a distinctive but cordial flair on high-pitched pipes that soar with throaty singing momentum that's peachy whilst profusely clean, infusing an operatic symphony of upbeat choir that injects a healthy listening calamity which ramifies with unique éclat and outré panache… profound within the snappy "Neon Heartbeat".

The maelstrom technicality of quintet guitarists Dan Reed (who performs within the "Revolution Road") Tommy Denander, Fabrizo Sgattoni, Mika Gronholm & Marshall Harrison manifests with twinning virtuosities that quintessentially shred with ripping dynamics… as a dexterously organic substance zestfully distils at a boisterously bouncy hybrid in experimental contrast that's systematically happy and enchanting. "Let's Go Together" starts off the unsurprising anthemic ballad trend of which I am sure there will be a lot more… very soul-esque, light-hearted lyricism & mellifluous rock finesse in which showcases some joyous AOR fluidly that's most vivacious whilst ambitiously hooky.

Classy, old school & traditionally rock orientated… songs like "You're Not The Only One", "Here We Go Again", as well as "In And Out Of Love" unleash mid-tempo rockers of which you may have heard before elsewhere… nothing particularly outstanding however, but an intriguing element in implementing crescendo building frolics and galloping bass audibility’s from Charles Berthoud & Micke Nilsson… as both thump out richly sulphurous slabbiness whilst stompy drum hammerings from Edu Cominato forge an enriching strife on strident nimbleness that's most meticulous & prodigiously momentous. With "Midnight Rain", "Heaven Sent" & "Sillhouettes" next…these songs have a quintessential virtuosity to them, nothing ground-breaking however it is all buoyantly enchanting should you fancy a healthy fix on some light-hearted AOR delights that will at least brighten up your day.

Sony Stevan & Rossano Capriotti's keyboardist versatilities salubriously transitions with riveting grooves and angelic compositions that revel with vigorous utilizations, amongst a rigorous tonality that's prestigiously performed whilst distinguishably archaic for good measure. "Wings Of Destiny'' & the penultimate "The Nakatomi Heist'' have a harder pace to them whilst still retaining those shrouds of rocking finesse in which masquerades with unique flow, in which overall concludes "The Last Man On Earth" with the finale "The Big Unknown" (a Digipak Version only) for another intriguing yet jumpy end.

Bottom line; I am compelled to say that while this was ultimately not my thing, there were still some highlights in which symbiotically merges mystifying musicality and jumpy songwriting musicianship with punchline grooves amongst a hooky transparency which makes for a contrasting craftsmanship ability in feel-good instrumental listening. LEE SMALL offered an enjoyably entertaining experience and discovery, however a linear/generic feeling overtook me while trying to appreciate it. Fans of this subgenre will take delight in this project though so, do check it out should this genre apply to you.

Songwriting: 6
Musicianship: 7
Memorability: 6
Production: 7

3 Star Rating

1. The Last Man On Earth
2. Neon Heartbeat
3. Let's Go Together
4. You're Not The Only One
5. Here We Go again
6. In & Out of Love
7. Midnight Rain
8. Heaven Sent
9. Sillhouettes
10. Revolution Road ( Featuring Dan Reed)
11. Wings of destiny
12. The Nakatomi Heist
13. The Big Unknown (Digipak only)
Lee Small - Lead Vocals
Dan Reed - (Vocals on Track 10)
Steve Man - Guitar
Tommy Denander - Guitar
Fabrizo Sgattoni - Guitar
Mika Gronholm - Guitar
Marshall Harrison - Guitar
Charles Berthoud - Bass
Micke Nilsson - Bass
Edu Cominato - Drums
Sony Stevan - Keyboards
Rossano Capriotti - Keyboards
Record Label: Metalville Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green