Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook





Not logged in

Users online

Putnamaq7, Galimorese6, 50 guests

Welcome to our newest member, Galimorese6

Return of the Soul - Interlacing of Worlds

Return of the Soul
Interlacing of Worlds
by Gary Hernandez at 25 June 2019, 5:29 PM

RETURN OF THE SOUL is a Melodic Progressive Metal band out of Yekaterinburg, Russia. They formed in 2018 and released their debut album in May 2019, “Interlacing of Worlds.” The ten-track collection is an ambitious, well orchestrated concept album delving into extra-planetary experiences. These experiences, of course, are analogous to mental and emotional experiences which, though otherworldly in their intensity, are all too real and universal in the here and now. The vocals are all in Russian; the music is 100% Prog. As you’ll note in the band credits, the band likes to acknowledge everyone who touched the album, which makes it difficult to discuss specific performance of individual band members, so I’ll limit my comments to broad brush strokes.

The album kicks off with a synth heavy, atmospheric piece, “Era Novum,” which heralds to the listener that this album is going to be different. It feels epic and expansive. “On Other Planets” follows with a melodic piano/synth entrance that crescendos into a cascade of riffs and growls, escalating into what is really the signature track for the album. Following is “Catatonia,” which I have to believe is a knowing nod to KATATONIA.

There isn’t a bad track on the album. They are all uniquely stylized to move the album’s story forward. The album seamlessly shifts from dark and discordant to harmonious and melodic in service of the story. If you come to “Interlacing of Worlds” expecting to pluck out a few singles to drop in your playlist, you’re likely to be disappointed. This album is best suited for end-to-end listening. With that said, if I had to pick three favorite tracks, they would be “On Other Planets,” “Catatonia,” and “To Freedom.” If I could cheat and add one extra, I would include “Interlacing of Worlds.” The only track I could do without is “No One Will Notice.” It just has too much of a synth-pop vibe for my taste.

I can’t leave off without mentioning the one cover song, “Honesty in Death”—a faithful rendition of the PARADISE LOST classic from their 2012 album, “Tragic Idol” . . . but in Russian, casting an unexpected additional layer of intensity. This track ends the album, bringing it to a satisfying close. RETURN OF THE SOUL is surprisingly good, and their debut is impressive. If you like your metal progressive, melodic, and profound, you’ll need to check out “Interlacing of Worlds.”

Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Memorability: 7
Production: 8


4 Star Rating

1. Era Novum
2. On Other Planets (feat. Den Kotovsky from DROPS OF HEART)
3. Catatonia
4. Interlacing of Worlds
5. Waiting for the Dawn
6. Until Heaven
7. To Freedom
8. You See the Light
9. No One Will Notice
10. Honesty in Death (PARADISE LOST cover)
Dmitriy Ovinov – all music and lyrics (except 10), arrangement, sound production, recording engineer
Max Irkibaev – guitars, music (2, 5,6), arrangement
Vyacheslav Gusev – vocals
Den Kotovskiy – vocal (2)
Daria «Ria» Dubchak – vocal (8)
Andrey «Orochi» Sazonov – co-production (1), keys (8)
Vladislav Kochnev – co-production (9)
Record Label: Independent


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 16 October 2019

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green