Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

53 guests

Welcome to our newest member, Fosmirees30a

Sainted Sinners - Sainted Sinners

Sainted Sinners
Sainted Sinners
by Jess at 28 July 2017, 9:58 AM

Former ACCEPT signer, David Reece, is part of a new Heavy Metal band SAINTED SINNERS. However, the band is formed by a multitude of talent with Ferdy Doernberg of AXEL RUDI PELL along with Berci Hirleman and Malte Frederik Burkert of PURPENDUCULAR. Their debut, self-titled album was released in February of 2017. The album comes in with eleven tracks and a listening time of just under 55 minutes.

Track one, “Knight of the Long Knives”, comes in with your classic Heavy Metal feel. The drums and guitars are put together well and there is some great shredding before vocals are even presented. The vocals are 80’s style grit with range. They are all clean and have this omnipresent power. You’re expecting a shriek to come from this track, it never happens, but the build is always there. The keys add a bit fair flare, but done tastefully, creating fun complexity.

Beauty in the Best”, is an anthem-eque track. It has a high energy, going to get into some trouble tonight, feeling. One where I would fully expect a hardcore Heavy Metallar to prep for a long night out to. The guitars are phenomenal and the keys kick ass right alongside them. They have this awesome dual at about 2:15 that last for the next 45 seconds and it is brilliant. The drums don’t disappoint either. It is very clear from this point on, I am reviewing very advanced and masterful artists.

Track five, “We’re All Sainted Sinners”, is very Southern Rock meets a Bluesy driven Metal. Again, the keys are out of this world good and the guitars show off a bit too. The Bluesy sound is a direct effect of a perfect guitar and drum meld. The chorus is powerful and the melody is inspiring. This is a radio hit ready track.

Talking about Blues. Track six, “Blue Lightening Man” is straight from the Midwest. Steel-guitar? Acoustic? Yes, until about a minute and a half in where we get the electric intensity back. While the beginning is a great intro, and the track is technically solid, it wasn’t a favorite. Compared to the rest of the track, it fell flat apart from the guitars at about 4:20, which brought back interest to the track.

In Need”, track eight, brings back that bellowing Heavy Metal sound. The vocals are contorted in this one a bit creating another Southern Rock feel with vibrato guitars. The keys are nicely done, but fail to compare to the guitars in this one. There is just too much goodness in the guitars here that, well nothing really stands a chance. Impeccable work.

The final track, “Truth is a Lie”, is a slower track. While we have had a few of these in the track, this one is less ballad and more ‘truth’, as the title reveals. The feel is saddening, until about 1:45 when it’s amped up and the emotions of the track is released for an incredible chorus. The keys get a bit of a solo with which they rock your face. The bass is perfectly done. While they have been an integral part of the album, they stand out in this track. This track is a nice balance of energy to round out a complete masterpiece.

SAINTED SINNERS debut self-titled album is exceptional, satisfying, and first-rate. While there were some tracks that fell flat, most exceeded expectations and allows the listener of Heavy Metal get that classic and lasting feel from their work. This is your classic Heavy Metal album and if you are a lover it’s classic feel, this album is for you.

Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Memorability: 8
Production: 10

4 Star Rating

1. Knight of the Long Knives
2. Beauty in the Beast
3. Maybe She’s Got Balls
4. We’re All Sainted Sinners
5. Blue Lightening Man
6. This Love That I Have Found
7. Did You
8. In Need
9. Evangeline
10. Shine Diamond Girl
11. Truth Is a Lie
Frank Pané - Guitar
David Reece - Vocals
Berci Hirleman -Drums
Malte Frederik Burkert -Bass
Ferdy Doernberg -Keyboards
Record Label: El Puerto Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 03 April 2020

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green