Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook


Not logged in

Users online

68 guests

Welcome to our newest member, lethae9a

Soulbender – Soulbender II

Soulbender II
by Katarzyna Zakolska at 02 October 2014, 5:20 AM

SOULBENDER is a Heavy Metal band formed in Seattle, Washington in USA by musicians including QUEENSRYCHE guitarist Michael Wilton and MY SISTER'S MACHINE vocalist Nick Pollock. Existing since 2002, in 2004 they released self-titled debut album and on 30th September 2014 they came out with “Soulbender II”. On the new album are 4 new songs and all remastered version songs from the debut CD.

Opening album “Turn Anger Up” is full of heavy riffs, lower style and that creates a stoner atmosphere with hoarse vocal. What  guitars, like SLASH! Rockind climate with similarity to AUDIOSLAVE's in “Slave To Reality” is combined together with fine strong guitars and groovy riffing. Relaxing sounds in “Seraphim” is melded with low and stunning guitars with melodic singing. The last new song on this album is called “Shoal” and has gentle guitars in Hard Rock stylings similar to ALICE IN CHAINS tracks.

From others remastered songs I like “Rabbit Hole” - heavier track with fine guitars, progressive changes and melodic evolutions. “Fix Me” contains heavy guitar work like a mix of BLACK SABBATH with SOUNDGARDEN. Stoner guitars are found in “The American Dream” where melodious sounds change into doom echoes with similarity to TOOL, ballad “Prime Time” with melodic line and nice working bass, “This Ocean” with grunge echoes an melodic in climate of SOUNDGARDEN and “Three Towers” with stronger guitars in GODSMACK style.

Summing up, production of album these Americans is made on solid level – every track is clear. The Guys from SOULBENDER are connecting in their music elements of Heavy Metal, Hard Rock, Stoner Metal and Grunge. Certainly good music for fans of SOUNDGARDEN, ALICE IN CHAINS, BLACK SABBATH, TOOL and AUDIOSLAVE.

3 Star Rating

1. Turn Anger Up
2. Shoal
3. Slave To Reality
4. Seraphim
5. Fix Me
6. Clockwork and Compass
7. Rabbit Hole
8. The American Dream
9. Samsara
10. Prime Time
11. Shoot Poem
12. This Ocean
13. Hunger
14. Three Towers
Michael Wilton - Guitar
Dave Groves - Guitar
Nick Pollock - Vocals
Wes Hallam - Drums
Marten Van Keith - Bass 
Record Label: Rat Pak Records


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 26 March 2019

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green