Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

61 guests

Welcome to our newest member, umogox

Status Minor – Three Faces Of Antoine

Status Minor
Three Faces Of Antoine
by Dave Nowels at 13 June 2018, 11:16 AM

STATUS MINOR is a Finnish Progressive Metal band from Tampere. “Three Faces Of Antoine”, available from Lion Music, is their third full length album release, and the follow-up to the critically acclaimed and fan favorite “Ouroboros”. I am going to do my best to provide a thorough fair review of this album, but I have to be up front about my overall opinion of this release.  I ultimately found the album disturbing and repulsive. More on why I felt this way in just a bit.

The album begins with one of three monologues written along with the music by guitarist and band founder Sami Saarinen. Listed within the liner notes as “Antoine’s voice by Linus Nyman, the opening monologue HELEN” is an odd monotone recitation of a man meeting his future wife. The music begins with the second track, “Our Common Curse”, a thundering dual kick drum rocker that sets the tone musically for the remainder of the album of complex guitar solos, and solid musicianship. “Turn Back Time” slows down the pace a bit, yet maintains the overall intensity. Next up is “The Tunnel” an almost Blues inspired track that continues the more mellow pace begun by the previous song. The song ends with police radio seemingly detailing a crime scene.

At this point I began to wonder if the album was intended to be a concept piece. I believe it was, as the monologue tracks continue a story, but the concept portion just never seems to make sense to me, if indeed that’s what the band was attempting. The next monologue track is titled “Max And Pattie” and details the birth of the narrator’s children and covers aspects of the narrator’s mundane life. The monologue tracks to me seemed just plain odd and disruptive to the flow of the album.  I would likely exclude them from any listening opportunities going forward.

The next two tracks were my favorites. “Feel My Hunger” which unfortunately into more odd unneeded monologue before one of the album’s best extended musical pieces. Saarinen’s solo here is superb. The next track, “Slenderman”, is just an exceptional song start to finish. It’s a brilliantly composed song really, and my absolute highlight. The final track is yet another monologue that just may be the most disturbing thing I’ve ever listened to. Titled “Me”, this spoken piece goes on to describe in great detail, the abduction and dismemberment of a little girl; the friend of the narrator’s daughter.

This final track ruined this album for me completely, to the point that I would never want to listen to “Three Faces Of Antoine” again. Which, is really a shame overall, because there is so much talent musically within the album. I was just a weird, frustrating and troubling experience.

Songwriting: 5
Originality: 2
Memorability: 2
Production: 8

2 Star Rating

1. Helen
2. Our Common Curse
3. Turn Back Time
4. The Tunnel
5. Free Me
6. Hard To Find
7. Max And Pattie
8. Feel My Hunger
9. Slender Man
10. Me
Markku Kuikka – Vocals
Sami Saarinen – Guitars
Jukka Karinen – Keyboards
Eero Pakkanen – Bass
Rolf Pilve – Drums
Record Label: Lion Music


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green