Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

41 guests

Welcome to our newest member, umogox

Storm Force – Age of Fear

Storm Force
Age of Fear
by John Paul Romero at 01 March 2020, 5:52 PM

You might not be aware who STORMFORCE is, but there’s a pretty good chance that you have actually stumbled upon BRIGHTON ROCK and SURFACE TENSION before. The bands I mentioned are related to one another, for STORMFORCE is formed by the pioneers of the two bands, namely Greg Fraser on guitars and Patrick Gigliardi on vocals. Alongside them is the two-punch combo of Brian Hamilton and Mike Beradelli on the bass and drums, respectively. Hailing from the magnificent Niagara Falls, Canada, the band released their debut album “Age of Fear” 25th of January of the present year.

The album kicks off with phenomenal “Because of You,” setting the tone early with its big hooks and solid riffs – which were sustained and carried over to the following “Age of Fear.” Greg’s riff prowess is on full display on songs like “Marshall Law,” “Ringside,” and “Breathe.” He had very good solos as well, proving his overall guitar skills. He also went acoustic in the songs “More Than You Know,” and “Ember Rain,” demonstrating his versatility.

The album has an overwhelming stadium feel to it, despite having a couple of ballads purposely placed to create a contrast in the sounds and serve as a short pit stop after some hard-hitting tracks like “Dirty Vegas.” Influences of CINDERELLA and VAN HALEN are all over the place, with shades of MOTLEY CRUE at times. A prime example of that would be “Marshall Law” with its overflowing energy and assertive guitars, very reminiscent of the Glam era.

One thing really worth recognizing on this record is Patrick’s versatility. He registers high notes with little to no effort at all, and at some points, even dangling on the fine line of high note and primal scream. His voice bursts with raw energy that could drive a crowd crazy, and when it comes to the ballads like “Different Roads,” he delivers with emotional depth to his singing that could easily touch a listener.

The closing song “Ringside” is a culmination of all they did on the other tracks, containing sharp riffs, big choruses, and an amazing solo on top. The way the chorus was written, it seems meant to make a crowd sing along with its easy tone and short structure. A perfect way to close an album that perfectly opened by the highly electric “Because of You.”

Songwriting: 8
Musicianship: 8
Memorability: 7
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. Because of You
2. Age of Fear
3. Breathe
4. Ember Rain
5. Ride Like Hell
6. Dirty Vegas
7. More Than You Know
8. Marshall Law
9. Different Roads
10. Ringside
Patrick Gagliardi – Vocals
Greg Fraser – Guitars
Brian Hamilton – Bass
Mike Beradelli – Drums
Record Label: Escape Music


You do not have permission to rate
Edited 31 May 2020

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green