Latest updates:

We hope you enjoy your visit here. Please join or login if you have joined before.

MT @ Facebook

Not logged in

Users online

31 guests

Welcome to our newest member, willtravers

Suppression - The Sorrow of Soul through Flesh Award winner

The Sorrow of Soul through Flesh
by Giovanni AC at 25 May 2022, 8:22 PM

Death metal. Yes, Death metal. The Chilean band SUPPRESSION releases their first full-length called The Sorrow of Soul through Flesh and I can say that my first impression was: well, we have a great Death metal album here! Let´s see why. After two demos and one EP, SUPPRESSION shows all their power through ten songs with a high level of composition and sound.

In general, I can say that The Sorrow of Soul through Flesh shows a great Death metal album but with variations within the style. The first impact with "Lifelessness", the opening song, gave us a good sample of old-school Death metal where all the elements work perfectly. The second song, "Overfeeding Gaps", with a few technical touches, continue the same style. "Monochromatic Chambers" shows for a few seconds some features in the vein of Technical Death Metal but after that return to the classical sound with great style. "Unperpetual Misery" is another great song and, from my point of view, the best on The Sorrow of Soul through Flesh. After that, "Unwinding Harmonies" shows a more experimental sound but still in a Death metal style, while "Lost Eyes" and "Misunderstanding Reality" return them to the more traditional Death metal sound. As in the good SEPULTURA'S times, "Self-Eaten Alive" is a raw and speedy song. The pleasant surprise coming with "Arrowheads", a folkloric song – the shortest of the album – played with acoustic guitars but that works as the perfect introduction for "Extortion Behaviors", the song that closes the album with the same classic Death metal style of the rest of The Sorrow of Soul through Flesh.

In short, The Sorrow of Soul through Flesh has strength and brutality in equal measure as the quality of production and the work of each member of SUPPRESSION. It´s remarkable the technical capacity of Daniel Poblete (Guitars), Pablo Cortés (Bass), Christopher Zapata (Drums) and Alejandro Cruz (vocals) manage to achieve, as they have done, in different Death metal sub-styles. I love this album, don´t pass this one up!

Songwriting: 8
Musicianship: 9
Memorability: 8
Production: 9

4 Star Rating

1. Lifelessness
2. Overfeeding Gaps
3. Monochromatic Chambers
4. Unperpetual Misery
5. Unwinding Harmonies
6. Lost Eyes
7. Misunderstanding Reality
8. Self-Eaten Alive
9. Arrowheads
10. Extortion Behaviors
Alejandro Cruz - Vocals
Daniel Poblete - Guitars
Pablo Cortés - Bass
Christopher Zapata - Drums
Record Label: Unspeakable Axe Records


You do not have permission to rate

Metal Temple © 2000-2014
Yiannis Mitsakos

Designed, Implemented and Hosted by PC Green